We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amy's Bread

Amy's Bread
672 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
212-977-2670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Once we discovered Amy's Bread on our recent trip to NYC we couldn't stop going there. I had the best scones ever. (Sour cream cherry scones are unbelievable.) This is a don't miss breakfast place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    140
    32
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I L-O-V-E Amy's since its opening! I have found the cakes exceptional, and the Blondies, and various breads and bread stick beyond comparison. Its a small place and the line at times goes out on to the street, but don't be discouraged, well worth the wait. There are some tables in the rear, but always at a Premium. I suggest that if you want one, send one in your party straight into the back of the store and secure a table while someone waits online. No WIFI, and only one outlet for charging, by the front of the table area. No rest rooms!!! Utilize Starbucks on the corner of 47th & 9th, just a few doors up.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place we visited each day . It was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We found Amy's Bread via the Food on Foot Tour organised by Corey ( he was a great tour guide )
We only needed to be introduced and we were impressed with the food , the service and the Presentation!
Congratulations to the owner/managers/staff. You are a very polished and presented unit
The selection of food was enormous and each day we popped in and tried something different
We tried both Ninth Ave and Chelsea Markets. Both impressive!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor quality cake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We ordered our Monkey cake as our wedding cake. It was terrible, it was dry no pineapple and tasted like flour. After contacting bakery about the fact , was told they would rectify the problem but nothing done. Definitely would recommend the cake boss instead.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming cafe with good selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stopped by Amy's for a nice little breakfast and walked away pleasantly surprised, even if all I had was bread. They offer everything from cibatta rolls to classic New York twists to pastries and scones. I chose the Parisian Breakfast--toasted baguette with butter and jam and a coffee for only $5.50. Can't beat the price anywhere for a quality baguette. Would definitely try again the next time I'm in the city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amy's Bread also viewed

 

Been to Amy's Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amy's Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.