We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, so-so service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 2nd Avenue Deli

2nd Avenue Deli
162 East 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)
212-689-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Delicious food, so-so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Although our food was delicious at 2nd Avenue Deli, it was hard to make up for the attitude of our server. When we didn't order as many lunch items as he recommended, we were treated with disdain from that point.

There are so many good delis in NYC--no need to go back where we are treated poorly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    135
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good to have them back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although crowded incessantly to get a table and to wedge out space AT a table, the food is beyond my delidreams.
As is true of the Carnegie, the sometimes surly Jewish wait staff has now been replaced by equally grouchy but witty Asian waitresses.
No amateurs; only serious Jewish deli fans should eat here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, HI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I missed this food so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a real Jewish Deli...not a tourist attraction like some others! My husband and son got to finally taste what real pickles, real coleslaw and REAL pastrami on rye tastes like, along with Dr. Browns black cherry and complimentary chocolate egg-creams for dessert! (We happened to have a very friendly waiter, I don't think this is the norm!)
Went to their "new" location on the UWS which was comfortable, clean, staffed with friendly, attentive waiters and great after spending a rainy morning at FAO Schwartz and Central Park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Outstanding Kosher pastrami sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It had been some years since I had been to the 2nd Avenue Deli and my wife had never been. There was no Q about what to order since they are famous for their pastrami on rye. We had our grandchildren with us --- they were pleased with their choices too (matzo ball soup). The complimentary pickles and slaw kept us from being impatient while the order was being prepared --- and, of course, at this time of year with so many tourists in town the place was jammed at lunch. Anyway once the pastrami sandwiches arrived I was "in heaven" -- even the rye bread was perfect.

That being said, it IS "pricey" (partly because the food is kosher and partly because there is enough customer demand that they CAN price things on the expensive side) which is the only reason that I don't give this place my highest rating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“excellent food, big portions, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We try to eat here every time we get to NYC. Excellent matzo ball soup, and the frank with sauerkraut was good, not too big, and inexpensive. Inexpensive is not the norm here -- portions are very generous, and the prices reflect the size of the portions. Nice bowl of vinegar slaw and dish of green and dill pickles to start. The soup and half sandwich is plenty for lunch, and the soup and frank was perfect. There's generally a wait, especially if your party is larger than 4. Good service, nice people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Avenue Deli also viewed

 

Been to 2nd Avenue Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2nd Avenue Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.