We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nutritious lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Health Bar

Great American Health Bar
35 W 57th St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10019-3494 (Midtown)
212-355-5177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,002 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Midtown
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nutritious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tuna melt sandwich on very fresh rye with house salad and tomato barley soup really hit the spot in the middle of a eight hour stroll around Central Park and downtown

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Basic and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After needing something to eat in mid-town this place was a great, simple stop. Huge salads, tasty pizza and great AC on a hot day!

They look like they make delicious smoothies too - and for the location, the prices were awesome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Generous portions, healthful ingredients... and kosher!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

While visiting NYC from Israel, I went to GAHB with an old friend and enjoyed it immensely. The menu is varied (I love a big menu), the service was quick, the food was delicious. And although the place was crowded, no one rushed out and we stayed in our comfy booth for almost two hours, nursing iced tea and diet coke (after polishing off salads and omelettes). I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crowded, but Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've been here a bunch of times to get a sandwich to go. Highly recommended: the spinach burger and the white fish sandwich. The fruit shakes are also a must. The space is a bit tight and service is average. I'd recommend this food to go. Get a bunch of food and bring it for a picnic in the park.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The place is low key with excellent food. Full breakfast for two with large juice and coffee was $27.00. We liked it so much we ate here twice over the Thanksgiving weekend.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Health Bar also viewed

 

Been to Great American Health Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Health Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.