We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard French Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA SIRENE

LA SIRENE
558 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-1508 (Manhattan)
212-925-3061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LA SIRENE is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #876 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 6th Ave. & Varick (closer to Varick)
Transit: A, C & E trains to Spring Street Station.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High standard French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was a find for us on a recent New York City trip. Both of our dishes were exceptional as well as the service. I had the Kassoulet, a signature dish made sort of like a French stew. I made the right choice. I would also advise the steak tartar as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent French bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner in this lovely restaurant in Soho : the cook is very careful with the quality of the food. We loved the tenderloin and the kassoulet. For dessert, we ate some delicious profiteroles with chocolate sauce.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, must visit, Friendly staff, Like being in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I visited this nice quaint restaurant, near the Holland tunnel entrance, it is great to take a date
for a nice quiet dinner, perfect for any celebrities that don't want to be bothered by the paparazzo
or fans . The Food was absolute amazing. The homemade French Onion soup was so good, I ordered a second bowl. The beet salad was so fresh and crisp. everything was first class. Great
Wine Selection, even Wines from Israel were offered. A MUST VISIT one of the best French Restaurants, i have visited. Everything is perfection and home made. The staff was so accommodating and friendly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great evening; amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The escargot was the best I've had, and the cassoulet was delicious, deeply flavoured, and very satisfying. My wife had the pear with blue cheese and loved it. Our server recommended that we share the cassoulet - thank goodness. It was the perfect portion for 2.
But what made this restaurant stand out was the service, which was friendly and informative without being intrusive. We met the owner, and complimented him on his wine selections, which were delicious and moderately priced.
This was one of the best meals we have had on our travels and can recommend it without hesitation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great, rich food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The food was largely excellent - for starters, the chèvre tartelette was amazing, baby octopus and mussels in dijon sauce were also very good. For mains, the filet mignon with foie gras was incredible, though the heavy sauce was a little too dominant and overwhelmed the softer flavours of meat and foie gras a little. We also enjoyed the lamb a lot; the hanger steak was the only main that we thought could have been better - it was too fatty.

It's very cosy - quite a lot of people crammed into a small space. It worked out fine for us, but if your neighbours are loud this may be annoying. Service was very friendly. In all, it was a lovely evening that left us very happy and planning to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA SIRENE also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to LA SIRENE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA SIRENE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.