We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't cost to smile.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“It doesn't cost to smile.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Functional hotel very convenient to SoHo but staff could make more of an effort to engage with guests rather than being constantly preoccupied with talking to each other. It often felt that guests were a hindrance to them getting on with their admin duties rather than guests being their priority. Nothing special about this hotel but location is good.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    437
    139
    28
    19
See reviews for
231
359
71
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great way to spend a weekend--or longer--in NYC! In SoHo, so in walking distance to many places you'll want to be! Rooms are comfy, many have good views, and the breakfast rivals a pricey brunch you could have elsewhere in the city. Stay here--and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was well worth the value, compared to other hotels close by. This was up to par. The breakfast is awesome!! Comfortable, clean room. Staff hospitality is wonderful, I love the proactive approach of the staff and that they call up to your room right after you check in to ask if everything is ok with the room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo is very conveniently located near two subway stations and there are several places to eat within walking distance. The rooms were small but clean and the beds were comfortable. It was nice to have free wifi and a wonderful free spread at breakfast each morning. The price was reasonable for the location and the Neutrogena products in the room were excellent.

My only real complaint is that the hotel is next to the entrance to the Holland Tunnel and you could hear traffic all night long. (WHY do people honk their car's horns late at night or at all? Using the horn is NOT going to get you in the Tunnel any faster!) I don't know if traffic can be heard on higher floors, but it is most definitely heard on the 4th floor.

The lobby is small and becomes extremely crowded with people at times. It would be nice if it were bigger for the times when exiting guests are waiting for cabs. Also, the metal box under the beds seemed to jut out too far in our room - and due to the tight quarters, we often hit our bare feet on the metal.

I don't know if I will stay here again simply because of the traffic noise. It will depend on the length of my next stay and what I plan to do.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor. Hopefully, those rooms are much quieter than those close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived early during a business trip so stored luggage there and checked in later. Room was on higher floor (18th) with gorgeous views of the skyline & Empire State Building. Typical NYC hotel room - small with just enough room to move around – tight quarters. Clean and comfortable with quality guest supplies and coffee maker (no tea but there is available on the 1st floor hospitality station so grab some on the way up to your room). Workout room is also small (1 stepper, 2 treadmills & weights) – all in good shape. Bed comfy, quiet, two elevators very slow tho esp during the rush hours.
Breakfast had good variety of hot/cold selections and fresh fruits. Unfortunately they mixed the meat with the scrambled eggs which I especially don’t care for since I do not eat meat. One of the cooks must have noticed and asked if I needed anything so I asked about eggs without meat. He went in the back and brought me a big plate of just eggs – very nice. He was very helpful and personable. In fact, all personnel I dealt with were extremely pleasant and helpful!
Price was high but it was a business trip but if personal, I would check around for better deals. Good loc for my business needs, easy walking distance and close to subway to get around the city. Convenient walking distance to Chinatown, Little Ital and subways. No issues with internet. I would definitely stay again if in the area. Recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - some have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well located, close to two subway stations, prices are reasonable for NY standards. Internet works well and rooms are useful. It is close to Soho where you can find good food, art galleries, appealing stores. It is also not far from Wall Street, Chinatown and Little Italy. I recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is within walking distance of the SoHo shopping district, plenty of restaurants and takeaway, and very close to a subway station that heads right into mid town New York and has easy connections to get to and from JFK or LGA airport (save on cab fares in crazy traffic if you arrive during peak hour).

Initially we were told that rooms were only ready for check-in on the 3rd floor, but the staff were able to get us into a room on the 8th floor. We didn't mind not having a room with a view because they have a terrace on their top floor (18th or 19th?) where we could take some photos.

The rooms are cosy (as expected in busy NYC) and have the necessary amenities that we needed for our stay. The only downside was that we were unable to close our curtains. We assumed this was because the heater was directly in front of the window and closing the curtains would be a fire hazard, but there was an office outside our window so we had to be conscious to stay away on the other side of the room if getting dressed.

A definite perk is the free breakfast offered from 6am-10am daily. We didn't have to worry about finding breakfast each day and there was a good selection of hot and cold foods. Eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes and waffles were offered throughout our trip, as well as yoghurt, cereal, toast, bagels etc if we needed breakfast on the go.

Overall we were happy with our stay and the service.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.