We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and free breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and free breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is within walking distance of the SoHo shopping district, plenty of restaurants and takeaway, and very close to a subway station that heads right into mid town New York and has easy connections to get to and from JFK or LGA airport (save on cab fares in crazy traffic if you arrive during peak hour).

Initially we were told that rooms were only ready for check-in on the 3rd floor, but the staff were able to get us into a room on the 8th floor. We didn't mind not having a room with a view because they have a terrace on their top floor (18th or 19th?) where we could take some photos.

The rooms are cosy (as expected in busy NYC) and have the necessary amenities that we needed for our stay. The only downside was that we were unable to close our curtains. We assumed this was because the heater was directly in front of the window and closing the curtains would be a fire hazard, but there was an office outside our window so we had to be conscious to stay away on the other side of the room if getting dressed.

A definite perk is the free breakfast offered from 6am-10am daily. We didn't have to worry about finding breakfast each day and there was a good selection of hot and cold foods. Eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes and waffles were offered throughout our trip, as well as yoghurt, cereal, toast, bagels etc if we needed breakfast on the go.

Overall we were happy with our stay and the service.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    434
    138
    28
    19
See reviews for
230
358
71
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel has bigger than the average New York hotel rooms, good location close to train station, great places to grab a meal. Good location for shopping, only a few blocks from Soho shops. Staff are friendly and helpful, Breakfast was good and is included.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor near the ice machine can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel but very busy when high occupancy. Front Desk personnel are very helpful but frequently have a line waiting when busy. Lobby too small (crowded) to handle the traffic at times. Rooms small but well appointed and clean. Due to shear curtains night is almost as bright as daytime due to numerous adjacent building lights.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Plan and simple. When you are booking a hotel room there is a 48 hour cancelation policy. If you don't show up, you are charged for the room. This is the second time that it happened this year. Yes. I was put up at another hotel, but that room was a dump. Picture arriving at 1AM to be told we don't have a place for you to stay here and then having to take a taxi to another distant location and the only room this hotel has is a basement room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There isn't anything wrong with this Hampton Inn. It's in a good location if you want to be in that part of Manhattan, and the Canal Street 1 train just a couple of blocks away. I spent only one night here and walked everywhere I needed to be except for Penn Station.

I had a TERRIBLE night's sleep, however. I should have checked TripAdvisor ahead of time to read the tips about finding a room. I was on the 3rd floor, facing the main street. Sleep, even with ear plugs, was difficult. There is a LOT of street noise, since the Holland Tunnel is one block away. Ugh. Stay on a higher floor and/or not facing the street if you can help it.

The free breakfast at this hotel is the standard fare for Hampton Inns. The eating area is quite large and it felt like a youth hostel -- tons of people, speaking every language!

I would definitely consider staying at this hotel another time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello betterinblack!

Thank you for the feedback! We're sad to hear that you didn't get a good night sleep! We hope you informed the issue to the Front Desk! If so, I hope we compensated properly! If you didn't report it, please contact me directly: Michele.Mayo@Hilton.com.

Guest Satisfaction is our #1 priority and we want to make sure your next stay with us is 110% better than the last! I look forward to your email!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and comfortable hotel situated in a great location in lower Manhattan . The room was a good size with all the essentials, even had a USB charger for your phone and a comfortable king size bed (which is a must after a long days sight seeing) Modern clean bathroom, great shower and complimentary toiletries. The room heating was a bit on the noisy side but could not hear any traffic noise from outside, which is good for a city hotel.
Very good selection of breakfast but disappointed they had no waffle mix during our stay, good tea and coffee facilities in the lobby available 24 hrs.(and in the room)
Staff very friendly and will direct you to all the local attractions.
Hotel in a great location for ground zero, Brooklyn bridge, Statue of Liberty and China town all in walking distance, Time square is a taxi drive away which costs $12 or subway which is close by.

Room Tip: Breakfast room gets busy latter on, nice Mexican restaurant opposite hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Daz793!

Thank you for the review! The positive comments help motivate us and the not so positive comments help show us how we can improve! I apologize that there weren't any waffles available during your stay --they're my favorite! Hopefully we'll have some available next time you visit the Hampton Soho!


I am glad that you enjoyed everything else from the other breakfast selections to the beds to our staff! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Picking the right hotel in Manhattan can at times be a game of chance, thankfully this hotel ticks all the boxes.

In terms of location, it is yards away from the subway which allows easy transport from JFK and all around Manhattan and surrounding areas. SoHO is a very short walk away with some great shops, bars and restaurants to visit.

The hotel itself is very good with large rooms and ensuite bathrooms which are freshly stocked and cleaned daily. The appliances all work with TV, drinks machine, iron safe and ice machine available.

Breakfast is of a good quality with a quick turnover of food so nothing is left sitting for hours getting dried out. Great selection! They have 24 hr coffee flasks available that you can help yourself to when heading up to your room, and maybe a cookie if your lucky :).

The staff are very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble! I even got a parcel shipped to the hotel! Michele and the team are first rate :)

If you don't have a view from your bedroom they have a roof terrace and if you need to hit the gym they have a more than suitable gym in the basement.

Thanks for a great stay, next time we are in Manhattan we will be sure to make a reservation :)

Room Tip: If you have any requests or questions just email the hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello ahaggas!

Wow thank you for the 5 circle rating! You are totally right -- choosing a hotel in NYC is like a roll of the dice and Im so happy you took a chance on us! Thank you for sharing your very descriptive experience here at the Hampton Soho! It really made us blush, especially all the "first rate" tee hee hee!


We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.