We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 459 Hotels in New York City
NEW YORK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is located in a convenient spot and is walking distance (a brisk walk) to shopping, restaurants, and the subway. There is also a fair amount of both meter and free street parking available. However, the hotel lobby is under construction, dusty, unwelcoming and disorganized. In addition, the rooms are very small, do not have views, and although the hotel claims to be "new" the rooms appear to have been renovated. In other words, the furniture is modern but seems worn...it was weird...
Also, only some floors have ice machines, which then cut off after 9:30pm...you can go to the basement for ice...but with 17 or so floors...it seems like a long way to go for some ice, which btw turned out to be ice chips...like they give you in the hospital. There is a very small gym in the basement, and since anyone off the street can come in the hotel and access the elevator, using the gym alone would seem a little unsettling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear SAKY10

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and apologize for any hassle or discomfort caused by our current renovations. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    437
    139
    28
    19
See reviews for
232
359
71
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is a very pricy and good for the money hotel.
The rooms are quite small, but fine for sleeping. Nice spacy baathroom. Clean and good comfort. Free wi-Fi and great included breakfast makes this a good buy. Also very well located to red and blue subway, easy to reach Central park and Downtown Manhattan. Nice walking areas and only 15 minutes walk from 1 mile high walk. Very nice and helpfull staff.
Even though they were rebuilding the Lobby, they managed to make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: Preferably 8th floor and up if you book on phone. On-Line it's harder to get what you want. Belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Caruso59,

Thank you for your stellar review about our hotel. We are glad to have provided you the service you deserve along with comfort and easy access to transportation and such. We apologize that you were here during renovations but are glad we made you feel right at home. Great news, we have finalized our renovations and our bar should be opening within the coming weeks. Come check us out in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hello Fellow Travelers, I stayed here on Monday-Wed Nov. 25-27th. For the price of $109 for each night, it was certainly worth it despite renovation they are currently undergoing for their lobby. The rooms are very, very small but for a single traveler or a couple, it's fine. Coffee machines are available in the rooms and in the lobby every day which is very convenient. The best attribute for this hotel is the Soho location. Despite the Holland Tunnel traffic that is constant, you are a few short blocks from either the Canal or Spring subway stations. You are also very close to Soho restaurants and shops. If you are traveling from PENN Station, you can jump on the A, C or E (heading downtown) and be at the hotel within 20 minutes or less.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Tom S,

Glad we were of service especially during our renovations period. We are glad that you found value in your stay and hope you stop by within the coming weeks as we conclude renovations and the reopening of the Artifakt bar. We would like to make your stay a 5 star stay this time around. Thank you for being our guest.

Best,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed a week, 10 flr., small, great for travelers, very effiecient, convienient location, easy access to subway and bus service, plenty of food locations within walking distance. Right off Canal st.. Close to WTC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Margaret Gamez E,

Thank you for being a guest of ours. We are happy to learn how convenient our location was to you and hope the stay was just as convenient to you as well. We hope you keep us in mind for the future of your NYC stays and thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

True, the lobby is under construction, which is mildly inconvenient. But our room - which had two double beds - was as big or bigger than many other Manhattan hotels. The price is reasonable (about $250 for a double) and the location is pretty good, though it is a 5-10 min walk to the nearest metro stop. Nothing bad at all about this hotel, but nothing really special either.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Amatitlania,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Soho during your NYC visit. My apologies that the renovations caused you any kind of inconvenience. We can assure you this will all be over with soon. I would have loved the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable and better than average. I am certain you will be returning some time in the future to NYC. E-mail me at klein.vergara@hilton.com as I would like to personally assure you an even better experience the next time around. Thank for sharing your feedback we value your input.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel lobby is going over some remodelling so first review is not the best. Yet once you go to room you are perfectly fine. The roof top is awesome. Great view. The hotel WIFI is free which is awesome. 24 Hou Parking is $30 (Talk about convenient in NYC). Breakfast is okay, free waffles, pre made omelette, fruits, toast, hot& cold cereal and other things too. The location is perfect. In SOHO which is fabulous.

Room Tip: Great alternative for SOHO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Federico H,

Hoping to see you return as I feel once our renovations are over, you will definitely enjoy your stay a lot better. I appreciate you sharing your review about your stay with us. Glad that our hotel's location made it a smooth home base while you explored the NYC area. Look forward to our bar reopening within the next few weeks as I'm sure that along with our finalized lobby will hopefully make you experience 5 star.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are planing to stay in this hotel with family, don't. Rooms are small and you can hear everything that is going on in the next room. Also, because the lobby was under construction, there was some construction noise on Saturday morning, around 10am. Location is terrible for older people: you need to walk at least 4 long blocks to go to restaurants and metro. I didn't enjoy and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear BibiLeite,

Thank you for taking time out in sharing your experience about our hotel. We thank you for voicing your opinion and truly apologize that your stay didn't go so well. Our apologies about the construction noise you dealt with. We did try our best to conduct renovations in a manner that works best with business hours and I wish we would of been able to make things right for you. Please e-mail me at klein.vergara@hilton.com so that we can have a more direct conversation about your experience here. I would like to see how we can make things better the next time your in town as we are a week away from finalizing renovations. Looking forward to your response.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.