We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points in NYC!
Ranked #236 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a good place to stay for soho but also little Italy Chinatown and Greenwich village. The staff was super nice and helpful. Rooms are small but typical for NYC I guess. No fridge or microwave. No room

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear FLClerk,

Thank you for taking time out to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that our location helped with the areas of interest you were looking to travel to. Our staff is delighted to hear that we were able to impress you during your stay.

Our rooms do not have refrigerators, however we do have the option of requesting one. Please request one on your next trip, we would be glad to get you one. We hope to see you back again soon, thank you for the feedback!

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    463
    148
    30
    22
See reviews for
247
385
75
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've stayed in great hotels and I've stayed in okay hotels. This is not even okay. On arrival, there's no personality or friendly service. The bar was full of people's luggage that had been dumped. The room was okay size-wise but the bathroom has nowhere to put anything so toiletries need to be kept on the floor. The shower drips, the bath tap drips constantly. The decor is tired. Breakfast was a joke - nowhere to sit. No one to greet you. A room that had water pouring through the ceiling (not joking!). Breakfast out of plastic kids party bowls. Location is excellent though. I'd stay here if I wanted to stay in this area and spend no time in the hotel. Who on earth said it was ideal for business?! It's barely ideal for leisure! Totally unimpressed at this price! Also a note in the bedroom stuck on the headboard told us the bed sheets were clean for our stay??!!!! As if that's an added bonus?! Also no room service was offered when we wanted tea instead of coffee. We had to get it ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear CHAND13R,

Thank your personal review about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that your comments will not go unnoticed. We are truly sorry that your experience didn't go as expected, we would have loved the opportunity to make things right with you. I can assure you this is not the way we operate and our management team will be addressing all issues mentioned. Perhaps if you have the time, we could speak more on your experience? Please e-mail me at kvergara@hamptonsohonyc.com to speak more about it. You can also give us a call at (212) 226-6288 and ask to speak to the General Manager. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was sharing the room on a business trip and the room was so small that we felt like we were tripping ver each other the whole time. The room temperature was too warm, despite the thermostat setting.Combined with the street noise and not too comfy beds it made for a poor night's sleep. The sink was blocked also. Everything was just a bit shabby. The staff was quite nice, but not enormously helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Simon M,

Thank you for allowing us to host your stay. It is unfortunate to hear that you left our hotel unsatisfied as that is not the kind of impression we like to go by. Would you be so kind as to e-mail me at kvergara@hamptonsohonyc.com so that we could speak more about the issues you faced. We would like to assure you that we are staffed 24/7 in order to address any issues or concerns. Perhaps your room may have had issues with the HVAC and sink that we may have missed. We truly apologize that this occurred, it should of been prevented. We appreciate the feedback and have communicated with our Engineering department to avoid this from re-happening. I hope to hear back from you via e-mail.

Warm Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean hotel, great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff.... also have a very nice little bar to unwind at end of day. The bartender was really fun also. They have a nice breakfast-- not great, but for what it is , it is good to grab a quick bite before heading out the door. And it is free-- so no complaints.

The area is so nice and the staff is so helpful and friendly, you couldnt ask for more. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear PJD0207,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho during your travel to this part of town. Looks like we were able to provide you with a satisfying stay and I will make sure to compliment our team on your behalf. I'm sure this means we'll be the choice for you the next time around and were hoping to host your stay again. Thank you for being your feedback!

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's the sort of place I'd probably stay in again but would hesitate from recommending to someone else. If you like your breakfast order taken, metal cutlery and to eat off crockery don't go there. The breakfast selection is typical (good to very good for what you're paying) - the disposable plastic cutlery and environmentally-dubious "paper or polystyrene or whatever they're made of" plates would not suit everyone.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms, lifts, foyers, toilets and breakfast area were spotless - so you know what you're getting. The bedrooms have an external look of "you're about to enter a metal box" but inside they're more than fine. Limited space for sure - but I thought they were totall adequate. TV worked (but nothing on in the USA of course - lots of channels but no choice). Bed very good. Bathroom and shower more than fine. My bedroom windows faced onto a building that emitted light and noise early so I needed the blinds closed (no problem).

Didn't make it to the bar (no issues, just didn't make it)
Good location for subway.
Free wifi all worked well.
Zero problems. Not plush but convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear CWScotland,

We appreciate you taking time out and for sharing your review. I am glad that we were able to provide you with the customer service you deserve along with the clean high quality standards we as a brand are proud of.

Please be sure that our plates are Eco-friendly and are actually made of bio-degradable material. Hampton Inn as a brand is a limited service hotel that offers complimentary Deluxe Continental buffet-style breakfast and WiFi for all guests. Our area offers plenty of great options for restaurants that serve breakfast should that service be preferred when recommending our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, thank you for the great feedback.

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a mini-vacation. The hotel is boutique in size, having been a parking garage in a former life. The rooms are small but adequate. There is a bar on premises for a cocktail and they serve breakfast every day with nice indoor seating in a glass covered atrium. The staff was friendly. Parking is tough. The street is primarily used as the access for the tunnel, and so traffic can back up severely at rush hour - think 30 minutes to get 2 blocks - with no other way to reach the hotel other than to park at one of the remote garages and walk your luggage back. We were fortunate enough to score a spot on the street (Weekends only) right outside. The rooms are clean, the bathroom lacks counter space, but setting up the luggage rack with the bed tray on top in the shower temporarily solves that problem while getting ready. The rooms are quiet, and sound-proof to the street, but not to the hall (yes, I'm talking to you mister 1503!).
Most important is the location. It's far from midtown, but right in the heart of downtown. Tribeca, Soho, Little Italy, etc, are all within a pleasant walking distance. This is a less touristed area of NY, and one of the most wonderful places to experience. The food and the shops are amazing, and the neighborhoods so diverse that several days can be spent wandering around.

Room Tip: The hotel has two sides. Pick rooms facing the north, so you can view uptown to the city skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear JayNads,

I thank you for the exceptional and detailed review about your stay here at the Hampton Inn Soho. We couldn't be happier to hear that all qualities of our hotel made your stay all the better. We do apologize that traffic was an issue at one point but are glad you took advantage of the weekend parking available on our block. Thank you for being our guest, welcome back anytime.


Regards,
Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is a great position to get everywhere, the staff were friendly, free internet access and breakfast included. Sheets and towels replaced daily, quiet room, great view on the 16th floor. Roof top terrace to take your glass of wine and kindle to relax after a long day walking around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to appreciate the views, I had a corner room which was very quiet, 1600 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KleinV54, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Jackie O,

Thank you for your personal review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that the area served you the availability for all your needs during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff at the Hampton Inn Soho, we strive to deliver the friendliest service out there and are happy you felt that way about us. We'll be glad to host your stay again in the future, keep us in mind the next time your near.

Warmest Regards,

Klein Vergara
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.