We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably Best Sushi in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ushi Wakamaru

Ushi Wakamaru
136 W Houston St, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 228-4181
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,254 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Arguably Best Sushi in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Rank: A. Arguably, the best sushi place in all of Manhattan. As much as it pains me to give up this info, to get the best experience, be sure to sit at the bar with the head sushi chef Hideo Kuribara. Eating sushi at a table, even 30 seconds or a minute after he makes the sushi, alters the taste and is not the same experience. The sushi is at the top of the class and the other sushi spots in NYC all play second fiddle (Blue Fin, Bond St., Sushi of Gari, Morimoto, Sushi Azabu, Sushi Yasuda, etc.). The one sushi place I can not make a comparison is to Masa, but at the fraction of the cost of Masa's omakase, perhaps no need to. The scallop, giant clam, sweet shrimp, caviar w/ quail egg, fatty tuna, seared fatty tuna (personal favorite), roe, and uni (Japanese and California) are all personal favorites.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    11
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ushi Wakamaru is probably the best sushi downtown. The spicy tuna roll is not that great, but you shouldn't be eating spicy tuna rolls at this place anyway. Just order the sushi. It can be hard to get a table in this small place, but it is absolutely worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Uni for some and none for moi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

After a tiring day of heavy exercise, I walked up from my Tribeca hotel to this restaurant after researching carefully for a good, authentic nearby Japanese sushi/sashimi restaurant. There were many to choose from and the rating this place got attracted me. Additionally their website mentioned specifically they had Uni. I walked in, handed my coat to the pleasing hostess and was immediately guided to the sushi bar. 4 attending sushi chefs were there, knives ready. I salivated. I chose a selection of plain-vanilla items plus my beloved uni. The chef provided me with some unrequested delicious items, the best being a King salmon, and other varieties fresh from airplanes from Japan. When it came time for uni, my chef reached over and grabbed a wooden tray of the soft stuff. Another chef, who evidently had some priority took it back and I was then told "we have no uni." The other chef dished out large helpings to multiple clients, I guess being solo has its price, plus I wasn't a regular. Despite that, service was very good, the waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Would I return? No. Again, not because of the quality of the food but just the fact I was on bottom of the pecking order made it clear I wasn't welcome to return. No muss no fuss.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some of the finest, freshest sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

If you think you've had sushi before, you were wrong, you haven't had the real thing until you have been to Ushiwaka Maru! Traveled from California where we eat sushi on a regular basis. The sushi at Ushiwaka Maru is unlike anything we have ever eaten. Extremely fresh, great variety and the most knowledgeable sushi chef around (Hide). Sit at the sushi bar and request Hide if you want the ultimate experience. Not near Times Square (near battery park) but worth the cab ride. Make reservations well in advance. Pay the extra price and you will be extremely pleased.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Remarkable sushi - try the chef's 15 piece special and gorge on the fatty tuna. Not cheap but worth every cent. Slight...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Remarkable sushi - try the chef's 15 piece special and gorge on the fatty tuna. Not cheap but worth every cent. Slight odd service style but the food saves the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ushi Wakamaru also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ushi Wakamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ushi Wakamaru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.