We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maze

Maze
151 West 54th Street, London NYC, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-468-8889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,379 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: btw 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: 7th Avenue stop on B, D, E train, and the 57th Street/7th Avenue stop on N, Q, R & W trains.
Stockholm
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went here alone and had a two course dinner. When I arrived at the restaurant I was about an hour to early so I visited the bar and had a drink - the staff behind the bar are both nice to chat with and make excellent drinks.

After being seated I ordered a glass of champagne followed by scallops and dry-aged sirloin steak.

Everything was, in my humble opinion, served to perfection. I ordered a glass of red wine to the sirloin.

+ Everything
- Being slightly intoxicated I became an extremely nice tipper (my own fault!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    210
    143
    94
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my top 3 meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Went to Maze for our anniversary dinner and it was amazing - we had cauliflower soup and scallops to start - both were ridiculously great. Then we had duck and risotto - again spot on. Finished off with the veal chop that was paired with gnocchi. Everything had its own twist to it and wasn't the standard "good but fogettable" that other restaurants offer.

In between courses we were brought 2 complimentary dishes also - white asparagus with a pistachio puree and an artichoke in a cool yogurt based sauce. You would never think the ingredients would work but the flavors were amazing across the board.

Atmosphere is great - elegant but trendy. Jose our waiter was very friendly and engaging.

I recommend going here and not the London as they are only separated by one door and how different can the food be? Save about $200 and goto Maze, you will not be disappointed! Our total meal with two glasses if wine was $150 before tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went there for lunch with my husband yesterday. Attentive service and good food. The taste and presentation of Bouillabaisse was awesome, fish and chips with gribiche sauce was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An anticipated good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

When you choose a restaurant owned by a famous chef, you are right to expect good food, but do remember that like everything else you also pay for the name. I write this as a start because its an important start to your visit at this type of restaurant.
We were two persons, and the following is my tasting experience of all the things we tried. I had the scallops as a starter. They were perfectly cocked, just the right texture and yet caramelised on the outside. then another starter the asparagus salad with fresh mozzarella and mushrooms. Simple but so good. Main courses: The risotto, which wasn't as perfectly presented as the picture on the webside, but were cocked just right. The veal chop steak with mushrooms and gnocchi was very good. The sirloin steak with pommes Anna, spinach and bearnaise was good but not perfect, and actually the only thing that didn't impress me. The Maze have a very well assorted wine list. Only thing is that it's very expensive. You really have to look good for a decent wine under a 100$.first we had a glass of Chardonnay. And then we had the American produced Steel at 65$ for a bottle which went good with the food. The service was good, as the waiters made you feel that they where always around. price for the food, wine and coffee including taxes and service gratitude was 330$. I gladly recommend you to try the experience if food matters to you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice atmosphere especially in the evening because of the adjacent bar. Good food, but too noisy.it is situated just at the entrance of the hotel,which gives the impression of a stand alone restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maze also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.