We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen by default!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q2 Thai

Q2 Thai
788 Ninth Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
(212) 262-2236
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,233 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Central Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chosen by default!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had decided on another Trip Advisor Thai location but found a 45 minute wait when we arrived. Since we had a show to catch we could not wait ,so we wandered on and found Q2 Thai, and we are glad we did, as the meals were very good and the value excellent. My wife had the best dish, a breaded trout dinner, that was a first for us in a Thai Restaurant,but was the best dish of the 4 different ones sampled by our party of four. The specials included a glass of wine and were priced under $20. They were able to seat us right away and service was fast and efficient...allowing us enought time to walk the 8 blocks back to our show. Though we chose Q2 Thai by default the first time,we would not hesitate to return should we come to the city again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai spoilt by rude service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just the sort of restaurant you come across in Thailand - formica tables and a bit rough and ready with fantastic food. I had vegetable red curry with sticky rice it was lovely, very flavoursome. Price wise it seemed reasonable until we got the bill and noticed an 18% service charge (extortionate even for NY) - it said this was discretionary but when we didn't pay the full amount (as service wasn't brilliant - we had to repeatedly ask for a beer) the waitress got rather stroppy! So great food was let down by a rude waitress, shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Satisfying Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

friendly,attentive service,flavourful dishes,with all the tastes you look for in Thai cuisine ,kaffir leaves, lemongrass,basil,curries,and coconut. served hot. Shared large flavourful soup, then a basil rice dish and a red curry chicken, all very good and varying degrees of heat. Total bill $30 for two people. Decor not fancy, but clean. Try it you'll like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family likes to try new places to each so we ask some local where would be a good place to go and they suggested we try the restaurants on 9th ave. so we did. We decided on Q2 Thai and we were glade we did they were friendly and they had great food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very good Spicy Thai - Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a thai salad with a good mix of vegetables (including greens, cucumbers, grape tomatoes, shredded carrots and cabbage, tofu and a bit of egg) - was large for an appetizer type salad and the peanut dressing was good but a bit sweet. For an entree I had the red curry and chose Tofu for the protien. Was spicy but not too spicy and portion of tofu was generous. There were budget-friendly happy hour prices for drinks and the table next to me looked like they were enjoying the mai tai's - but I stuck with diet coke. Service was very good - place setting only had a fork, but when a waitress noticed I was having difficulty with a large slice of cucumber, she brought over a knife without being asked. Very attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q2 Thai also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Q2 Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q2 Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.