We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown ny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jones Street Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location for downtown ny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose the first floor studio for our week in downown NY. The key collection arrangement worked as promised and the bed was comfy. There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure for the shower was excellent.
We probably didn't understand that first floor meant half way under ground but that was ok although the apartment is a bit dark . Lights neded to be on both day and night. The apartment is very well located between two subway lines at Seventh and Sixth Avenues which was a huge bonus and benefit for getting around quickly.
It's in the middle of the village, there are more places to go to and eat at than you could possibly test in months. While the evening street life is a bit noisy it was expected and ended at a reasonable hour.
We had difficulty with the wifi which our hosts dealt with quickly with a signal repeater placed in the apartment. This solved access on our tablets (both android and iPad) but not our phones. Our hosts couldn't get wifi via their phones either.

The TV signal doesn't really work but we weren't there to watch tv.

The Doma cafe does good coffee (another bonus - NY coffee seems a bit hit and miss) and the staff at the cafe were lovely. The laundry service across the road was very efficient and good value.

The apartment didn't come with a starter kit of tea, milk, sugar or any bathroom soap which we had expected, as that's what we've experienced in other apartments both here in NY and around the world.

If you are looking for location, privacy and convenience, this is a good choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
44
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in the upstairs apartment for 2 weeks in September and it is fantastic. This is easily the best neighbourhood in NYC. Heaps of great restaurants nearby, walking distance to the subway and it feels very safe.

The room is a decent size and the perfect base for an extended stay in NYC, a much better option than a hotel. You will certainly feel as though you're a local after spending a few nights here.

There's a little noise outside, however I found it quite entertaining listening to some of the conversations!

I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

perfect location right in the heart of the Village. We stayed on the ground floor room, which was a bit noisy, but hey - you're in New York! It's such a buzz to be right in the heart of all the action. There are sooo many amazing restaurants within a block or two of the guest house, which is great. We are also huge jazz fans, and there are three wonderful jazz places (The Village Vanguard, Small's, and Cornelia St Cafe Jazz) all within walking distance as well.

Evelyn was extremely helpful with providing an information pack ahead of time, so we were able to get a sense of what sort of places we'd want to go to, where to eat, etc... which we really appreciated!

Having the little kitchenette was nice; we could have breakfast in the room, or else go to Doma, etc... - again, there are just so many options in the area!

We didn't seem to get the room cleaning figured out - it didn't seem to happen on the days it was "supposed to", and then we got a clean on a day that we didn't think we should have! But it wasn't a big deal. I think the room servicing was supposed to be roughly every second day, which would have been fine.

We will definitely be back to New York, and this would definitely be the place we would stay again! Nice to be in the midst of all the action, but in a safe area with lots of great dining experiences available at the doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 2 on the first floor and we felt like we experienced what it would be like to live in NY City. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast at Doma was lovely and the apartment was situated in a great area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The good and the less good: Location is central, just a few steps off Bleeker Street in the heart of Greenwich Village. Entry is down four unequal steps from the street, then up a steep, narrow, grungy staircase to the main-floor parlor studio. Swing a cat without hitting the 12-foot-high walls of the main room, a space greater than can be found at far costlier NYC hotels. None of the furniture is younger than c. 1940, all of it more of the Nanna's Flea Market Finds variety than antiques. The bathroom is brightened with black-and-white subway tiles and new fixtures. A postage-stamp-sized TV brings in only those local channels available before we ever heard of cable and satellite. The kitchen has a small fridge and range, with adequate cookware and utensils. Despite the presence of a music cafe across the street and a bar next door, nights are relatively quiet. Guests each get a $5 discount at breakfast at the owners' Doma Cafe, a block-and-a-half away. Food preps there are different enough to be intriguing, with an Eastern European cafe slant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a bit of a leap of faith but the Trip Advisor reviews were encouraging and the location was great . Having stayed in the Garment District last time I didn't want to make the same mistake. Evelyn was a fountain of information and made the booking process easy. She sent piles of information about the location and the environs and we weren't disappointed. A quirky, quaint studio with a bed so comfortable I am going to buy one, a sofa, table, library and great location. I won't parrot on about the dicky plumbing - this is an old building, but I will say that our hosts were delightful and did their utmost to make our stay comfortable. The cafe is gorgeous and food as good as any in the neighbourhood. We will definitely go back. Fantastic.

Room Tip: There are only two apartments or the owners, available on occasion. Don't be fussy just take wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just completed my secound stay at this great apartment and loved it again. I stayed in the first floor studio which was very clean and large for a studio. The location cannot be beat, being right in the heart of all the West Village activity: shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, subways, etc. The owner's restaurant Doma is only a block away and you receive a discount there is you stay in their apartment. I will be back and I recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to live like a real New Yorker.

Room Tip: Perfect for 1 or 2 travelers, or maybe 3 since a futon couch has been added. Best book early. This p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jones Street Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jones Street Guesthouse to your Saves list