We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, wonderful place to base yourself to see NYC and feel like a local!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jones Street Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome location, wonderful place to base yourself to see NYC and feel like a local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

perfect location right in the heart of the Village. We stayed on the ground floor room, which was a bit noisy, but hey - you're in New York! It's such a buzz to be right in the heart of all the action. There are sooo many amazing restaurants within a block or two of the guest house, which is great. We are also huge jazz fans, and there are three wonderful jazz places (The Village Vanguard, Small's, and Cornelia St Cafe Jazz) all within walking distance as well.

Evelyn was extremely helpful with providing an information pack ahead of time, so we were able to get a sense of what sort of places we'd want to go to, where to eat, etc... which we really appreciated!

Having the little kitchenette was nice; we could have breakfast in the room, or else go to Doma, etc... - again, there are just so many options in the area!

We didn't seem to get the room cleaning figured out - it didn't seem to happen on the days it was "supposed to", and then we got a clean on a day that we didn't think we should have! But it wasn't a big deal. I think the room servicing was supposed to be roughly every second day, which would have been fine.

We will definitely be back to New York, and this would definitely be the place we would stay again! Nice to be in the midst of all the action, but in a safe area with lots of great dining experiences available at the doorstep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
44
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 2 on the first floor and we felt like we experienced what it would be like to live in NY City. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast at Doma was lovely and the apartment was situated in a great area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The good and the less good: Location is central, just a few steps off Bleeker Street in the heart of Greenwich Village. Entry is down four unequal steps from the street, then up a steep, narrow, grungy staircase to the main-floor parlor studio. Swing a cat without hitting the 12-foot-high walls of the main room, a space greater than can be found at far costlier NYC hotels. None of the furniture is younger than c. 1940, all of it more of the Nanna's Flea Market Finds variety than antiques. The bathroom is brightened with black-and-white subway tiles and new fixtures. A postage-stamp-sized TV brings in only those local channels available before we ever heard of cable and satellite. The kitchen has a small fridge and range, with adequate cookware and utensils. Despite the presence of a music cafe across the street and a bar next door, nights are relatively quiet. Guests each get a $5 discount at breakfast at the owners' Doma Cafe, a block-and-a-half away. Food preps there are different enough to be intriguing, with an Eastern European cafe slant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a bit of a leap of faith but the Trip Advisor reviews were encouraging and the location was great . Having stayed in the Garment District last time I didn't want to make the same mistake. Evelyn was a fountain of information and made the booking process easy. She sent piles of information about the location and the environs and we weren't disappointed. A quirky, quaint studio with a bed so comfortable I am going to buy one, a sofa, table, library and great location. I won't parrot on about the dicky plumbing - this is an old building, but I will say that our hosts were delightful and did their utmost to make our stay comfortable. The cafe is gorgeous and food as good as any in the neighbourhood. We will definitely go back. Fantastic.

Room Tip: There are only two apartments or the owners, available on occasion. Don't be fussy just take wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just completed my secound stay at this great apartment and loved it again. I stayed in the first floor studio which was very clean and large for a studio. The location cannot be beat, being right in the heart of all the West Village activity: shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, subways, etc. The owner's restaurant Doma is only a block away and you receive a discount there is you stay in their apartment. I will be back and I recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to live like a real New Yorker.

Room Tip: Perfect for 1 or 2 travelers, or maybe 3 since a futon couch has been added. Best book early. This p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A really charming and comfortable property in a great location for a New York city break.

We stayed in the owners' duplex which has a spacious kitchen and dining room combined and then upstairs has two main bedrooms with an additional bed on a spacious landing. The beds are extremely comfortable! In addition there are two bathrooms. We comfortably slept five here (ourselves plus children aged 11, 8, and 5).

If you are after antiseptic 5-star luxury then his isn't the place for you - it is slightly idiosyncratic.  But if you want a cosy, comfortable, and characterful place for your stay in New York then we'd highly recommend it. 

The owners also run two guest apartments in the same building as their duplex, although we didn't see inside these. The house is in the heart of Greenwich Village, on Jones Street, which is just off Bleecker Street. It feels very safe in the area around the house and is surprisingly quiet at night, considering where it is - we weren't disturbed at all.

It's also fantastically convenient for getting around Manhattan. Within a couple of hundred yards you can get onto three of the five main north-south subway lines, and one of these connects you easily with the other two, so it's really very easy to get around. We didn't need to get a cab once during our visit.

The owners have a cafe down the road where they provide pastries and coffee for breakfast if you want it.

Very friendly and helpful owners. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Jones st Guesthouse was like a home away from home.

PROS;
-Spacious. Our room had a big bed (VERY comfy!), sofa and small table to eat at, and a bath in the bathroom!
-Room was super clean.
-House was easy to find, but there are no signs on the exterior of the building, so make sure you know what you're looking for!
-The Subway is really close.
-Owned by a very friendly couple, their young son was very cute and charming!

CONS;
-Due to the outrageously hot weather for march, the room was very stuffy and the air con was too noisy to leave on at night.
-There is a bar next door, the smokers come quite close to the house so can be noisy at times. Especially as we had to have the windows open. I'm a light sleeper, and got woken a few times. Earplugs helped alot though.
-Our basement room was right next to the main entrance for the house, so there was occasional noise from people entering the building.

Despite me mentioning the noise, it was still very quiet compared to where we have stayed in NY before (on the corner of 34th & 8th). There was no taxi's beeping 24/7, and was generally a quiet location. You just get the odd bit of 'people noise' from the streets.

All in all, I would totally recommend you stay here, I will be contacting Evelyn again for a reservation when we next visit. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Address: 31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jones Street Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jones Street Guesthouse to your Saves list