We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jones Street Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jones Street Guesthouse
Save
You added Jones Street Guesthouse to your Saves list
31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 2 on the first floor and we felt like we experienced what it would be like to live in NY City. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast at Doma was lovely and the apartment was situated in a great area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
47
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The good and the less good: Location is central, just a few steps off Bleeker Street in the heart of Greenwich Village. Entry is down four unequal steps from the street, then up a steep, narrow, grungy staircase to the main-floor parlor studio. Swing a cat without hitting the 12-foot-high walls of the main room, a space greater than can be found at far costlier NYC hotels. None of the furniture is younger than c. 1940, all of it more of the Nanna's Flea Market Finds variety than antiques. The bathroom is brightened with black-and-white subway tiles and new fixtures. A postage-stamp-sized TV brings in only those local channels available before we ever heard of cable and satellite. The kitchen has a small fridge and range, with adequate cookware and utensils. Despite the presence of a music cafe across the street and a bar next door, nights are relatively quiet. Guests each get a $5 discount at breakfast at the owners' Doma Cafe, a block-and-a-half away. Food preps there are different enough to be intriguing, with an Eastern European cafe slant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a bit of a leap of faith but the Trip Advisor reviews were encouraging and the location was great . Having stayed in the Garment District last time I didn't want to make the same mistake. Evelyn was a fountain of information and made the booking process easy. She sent piles of information about the location and the environs and we weren't disappointed. A quirky, quaint studio with a bed so comfortable I am going to buy one, a sofa, table, library and great location. I won't parrot on about the dicky plumbing - this is an old building, but I will say that our hosts were delightful and did their utmost to make our stay comfortable. The cafe is gorgeous and food as good as any in the neighbourhood. We will definitely go back. Fantastic.

Room Tip: There are only two apartments or the owners, available on occasion. Don't be fussy just take wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just completed my secound stay at this great apartment and loved it again. I stayed in the first floor studio which was very clean and large for a studio. The location cannot be beat, being right in the heart of all the West Village activity: shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, subways, etc. The owner's restaurant Doma is only a block away and you receive a discount there is you stay in their apartment. I will be back and I recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to live like a real New Yorker.

Room Tip: Perfect for 1 or 2 travelers, or maybe 3 since a futon couch has been added. Best book early. This p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A really charming and comfortable property in a great location for a New York city break.

We stayed in the owners' duplex which has a spacious kitchen and dining room combined and then upstairs has two main bedrooms with an additional bed on a spacious landing. The beds are extremely comfortable! In addition there are two bathrooms. We comfortably slept five here (ourselves plus children aged 11, 8, and 5).

If you are after antiseptic 5-star luxury then his isn't the place for you - it is slightly idiosyncratic.  But if you want a cosy, comfortable, and characterful place for your stay in New York then we'd highly recommend it. 

The owners also run two guest apartments in the same building as their duplex, although we didn't see inside these. The house is in the heart of Greenwich Village, on Jones Street, which is just off Bleecker Street. It feels very safe in the area around the house and is surprisingly quiet at night, considering where it is - we weren't disturbed at all.

It's also fantastically convenient for getting around Manhattan. Within a couple of hundred yards you can get onto three of the five main north-south subway lines, and one of these connects you easily with the other two, so it's really very easy to get around. We didn't need to get a cab once during our visit.

The owners have a cafe down the road where they provide pastries and coffee for breakfast if you want it.

Very friendly and helpful owners. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Jones st Guesthouse was like a home away from home.

PROS;
-Spacious. Our room had a big bed (VERY comfy!), sofa and small table to eat at, and a bath in the bathroom!
-Room was super clean.
-House was easy to find, but there are no signs on the exterior of the building, so make sure you know what you're looking for!
-The Subway is really close.
-Owned by a very friendly couple, their young son was very cute and charming!

CONS;
-Due to the outrageously hot weather for march, the room was very stuffy and the air con was too noisy to leave on at night.
-There is a bar next door, the smokers come quite close to the house so can be noisy at times. Especially as we had to have the windows open. I'm a light sleeper, and got woken a few times. Earplugs helped alot though.
-Our basement room was right next to the main entrance for the house, so there was occasional noise from people entering the building.

Despite me mentioning the noise, it was still very quiet compared to where we have stayed in NY before (on the corner of 34th & 8th). There was no taxi's beeping 24/7, and was generally a quiet location. You just get the odd bit of 'people noise' from the streets.

All in all, I would totally recommend you stay here, I will be contacting Evelyn again for a reservation when we next visit. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

What can we say. We're sitting here in a wonderful part of New York needing to share with you what a wonderful place we have found to stay and wonderful people that own it and look after you while you are staying here. If you decide to stay at Jones Street Guesthouse you will not be disappointed we hope. We certainly haven't been. We are staying in the first floor apartment which is old english in style but with a New York touch. We are here for a week and it has been perfect, staying in style with everything you need - comfortable bed, a bathroom with a bath, plus a cooker and fridge for those days you feel like eating at home (or for storing the lovely wine from the specialist wine store a couple of buildings along). You will be staying right at the heart of Greenwich Village on a quiet street but surrounded by fantastic places to eat, drink, hear music and shop along the adjoining streets (Bleeker Street, Cornelia Street, 7th Ave etc) including Cornelia Street Cafe (music, food and drink),Cafe Vivalidi (music, food and drink), John's Pizzeria, Patisserie Claude (amazing cakes / croissants) and Doma, the owners cafe which is a joy to have breakfast in of a morning (recommend the eggs toscano and eggs norwegian) and to have dinner of an evening. You are also within walking distance of downtown (China Town and Little Italy), midtown and the east village and area such as Chelsea. We've walked from here to 42nd St / Times Square easily during the week but if you prefer to catch the subway it is a 4min walk maximum around the corner from the guesthouse. All the galleries and museums are within a 15min subway ride. Breakfast is also available with your stay. A card is given to you on arrival which entitles you to $5 each person towards breakfast at Doma which gets you a coffee / tea and pastry (the croissants are great) but if you would like more the $5 each person is taken off your bill. The cafe is a place to take time, read, write or just sit and day dream. We've been there every day and the same people are there each day and it is always full which speaks volumes. Evelyn and her husband that own the guesthouse and cafe are fantastic, very friendly, helpful and welcoming, give you complete privacy while you are here, but are there to help you, make recommendations if you need them. The apartment is cleaned regularly during the week too, another bonus. Would recommend fully to everyone to stay at Jones Street Guesthouse. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There is one room available on the ground floor then another room up one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jones Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jones Street Guesthouse

Address: 31 Jones Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming brownstone guest house apartments in the heart of Greenwich Village; included in our price are all taxes, continental breakfast at a nearby cafe and cleaning 5 days per week. Each apartment has completely private bath with full tub, a small but fully-equipped kitchen to cook delectable treats from neighborhood shops and the farmers' market, or just to enjoy tea in the afternoons after touring about town. There are wood floors and small Persian rugs in both apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jones Street Guesthouse Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jones Street Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.