We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brendan's Bar & Grill

Brendan's Bar & Grill
42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
212-564-5405
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #589 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the hotel adjacent to this bar and had a few beers here of an evening before heading out again.

The service was excellent and a good range of beers available.

The customers sat at the bar were extremely friendly and a great place to go on your own as you will soon be in conversation with someone at the bar.

Plenty of other little bars in this area and I would use this one again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    149
    38
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Connecticut
1 review
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My girl friends and i stopped in after a long day of shopping and enjoyed a great meal. The atmosphere wad wonderful and there was a fire in the fireplace. We had the angus burger & shepards pie. Both were fantastic. Service was great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The food was mediocre at best. My husband and I ate there after shopping at Macys. Lunch. I had a goat cheese salad and chicken avocado wrap. Bland is the best word. My husbands sandwich was a bit nicer. Service was poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here out of convenience as we were staying across the road at Hotel Metro, but found it to be really good. Relaxed atmosphere, good service and really delicious food. I had scallops with a lovely sauce, perfect rice and green beans and it was just exactly right. My friend had pizza with a thin crisp crust and juicy toppings.
Much bigger inside than it looks from outside!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meeting spot near Penn Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you don't want a sports bar or an expensive chop house, Brendan's is a great spot to meet friends or have a business meeting. My roundtable of friends/colleagues tried Brendan's about 6 months ago and we have been returning ever since. The food options are great--interesting salads to grilled fish to nicely done pub-grub. The service has been very accommodating, and we even get the same round table every time. It's quiet enough to hear each other but noisy enough to have a semi-private conversation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brendan's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Brendan's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brendan's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.