We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empanada Mama

Empanada Mama
763 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10019
(212) 698-9008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Colombian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cool decor, and the empandas are pretty tasty. I went with a friend and tried 6 different savory ones, and 3 sweet. All cooked well with no complaints there! Note: It is a very small restaurant & the tables are close together.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    142
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Empanadas and Red Sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I eat here a couple times a month. Most of the time I order empanadas, which are always delicious. I've tried other items which are good as well. My absolute favorite thing is the red sauce. I keep some in my fridge so when I order from other places I can use it on their food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent empanadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went on a weekday evening and got seated within 5 minutes. The place is a bit cramped, but the empanadas are all amazing! We tried 6-7 amongst the 3 of us, and there wasn't a single one I wouldn't try again. And the apple cider drink with a shot of whisky was incredible! I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Agree with previous reviewer- best and cheapest meal while visiting NYC. Food is terrific, lots of variety, good, friendly service. All empanadas were delicious as was the arroz con pollo. Despite being busy, they don't rush you. Small so get there early if time is an issue.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düren
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Eat place in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I am visiting NYC couple of times a year. This place has become one of my favourite places in the city. Great food and tasty! nice fresh juices. Arroz con Pollo and Arrepas are my favourite there. great staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empanada Mama also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Empanada Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empanada Mama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.