We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sake Bar Hagi

Sake Bar Hagi
152 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
(212)764-8549
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #599 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A definite hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Amazingly authentic food and very affordable. Definitely high on my lists of spots to stop in NYC. And they have tempura pizza!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food is great, a busy place but worth the wait, i strongly recomend this place :) will defenetly eat here Again the next time i'm in new York!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My whole family went for 3 days visit in NY and was recommended by our friends. They have a lot of different varieties and we love the food and the taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great ramen, authentic vibe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Sapporo and Kirin on draft. Full bar. They don't take reservations so be prepared to wait. We waited 30 minutes on a Saturday at 730pm. It is well worth it. We sat at the bar. The ramen was delicious. The broth was white with delicious dots of pork fat floating on the top. The pork in the ramen was full of flavor and had a good meat to fat ratio. The veggies were crisp and the ginger was added in just the right amount. We also had the pork belly skewers which were very good. The yellowtail collar tasted fresh and was nicely seasoned and flaky. The menu had various authentic Japanese dishes. I would go out of my way to eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great late night fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I visited this place after seeing a broadway show. It was a suggestion of my son, who used to live in NYC. First finding this place is kind of a challenge. A door between two other Japanese restaurants. If you thru the door and see steps leading down then you found it!

The wait took only 30 minutes (no reservations here) but was worth it. This is a really cool place. Small plates and plenty of sake. My son told me to get the sake box, which I did. I won't tell you what that is but try it, it was a blast.

Staff was very helpful with both the food selection and sake selection.

I definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake Bar Hagi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sake Bar Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake Bar Hagi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.