We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancora Ristorante

Ancora Ristorante
11 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)
(212) 480-3880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,206 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Description: Tony Fantastico and Elio Albanese opened Ancora in 2004 on Stone Street in the heart of New York City's financial district. The restaurant features classic northern Italian cuisine, and whether you are a regular or a new customer, your experience will be one to remember.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were returning on the Staten Island ferry at 2:15PM and we were starving! I used my phone to find restaurants in the area and found Ancora. I called and they said if we got there before 3 they could serve us. It was a very short walk and when we entered the downstairs dining room we almost walked out. There was no one there excpet the servers. But we were hungry. And are we glad that we stayed! We ordered a Ceaser for two that was prepared tableside. I had the veal marsala and my husband had the ravioli of the day. Service was great. It was also funny because once we had our main coursed, all of the waiters and staff came out of the kitchen with their plates piled with pasta for their lunch at a big round table. They took turns jumping up to refill our glasses or check on us. Yes, it was pricey but this is New York, people! We'd definitely return if we were in the Wall Street area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great service, great food. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but great inside. Starts with bread, fried zucchini, hot peppers - complimentary. Dinner is reasonably priced (for NYC), and great food. Complimentary grappa at the end of the meal.
Lots of "locals"... lots of NY accents (so fun to listen to!), seems to be lots of repeat customers. On our 2nd visit, we were recognized immediately!
Our first visit, it was quiet. 2nd visit was busier, and still great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loud and expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I went to Ancora for lunch we should have known better when we walked in and all waiters were in tuxes. We stayed and the food was good but the bill for a Caesare salad for two and two appetizer size bowls of soup was $90. The place was loud and busy with Wall St people.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Out of the way little Italian restaraunt my wife and I found on Trip Advisor. We had dinner here one night and a true old time Italian restaurant. The service was outstanding as the waiters ( all men) were dressed in tuxedoes and were very attentive. The food selection and wine list were old style Itsalian entries but very good. We actually expected the"Godfather" to walk into the restaurant anytime. Good time reasonable prices; highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“odd location, pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

there are vew few restaurants to choose from in downtown area of NYC. I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is in an odd location and when you approach it from the outside, it looks like you are at the wrong place. After going inside, we were taken downstairs to a nice restaurant area. The service was remakable and the food outstanding. I shared a porterhouse with a guest which wad cooked perfectly. there were plenty of vegetarian options as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancora Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ancora Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancora Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.