We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to ho for a date” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fig & Olive Meatpacking

Fig & Olive Meatpacking
420 West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Fig and Olive Meatpacking) (Manhattan)
+1 212-924-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fig & Olive Meatpacking is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,235 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between Ninth Avenue and Washington Street
Transit: 14th Street stop on A, C, E, 1, 2, 3 and L Trains
Description: FIG & OLIVE is about passion for the best olive oils, flavors and cuisine from the Riviera & Coastal regions of the South of France, Italy and Spain. It is a full service restaurant featuring lunch, brunch and dinner menus. The exceptional wine list includes over 30 wines offered by the glass or bottle from Italy, France and Spain. FIG & OLIVE FIFTH AVENUE truly stands out with its elegant and authentic design from the French and Italian Riviera. Our 4,000 square foot MEATPACKING DISTRICT venue, has become a favorite space for all types of corporate events, Holiday Parties, and personal celebrations. FIG & OLIVE MEATPACKING truly stands out with its elegant and authentic design from the French and Italian Riviera. This space offers numerous possibilities to host a variety of events from 12 to 350 guests. FIG & OLIVE Events team is at your disposal to assist you in planning your special event.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice to ho for a date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The ambience was great even tough a bit to laud for my taste.
Fodd I have to say it was very good I had crostini, octopuss and branzino.
This could be also the place were to take your date the first time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    222
    79
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Trendy and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a little waiting, we got a table. The food was good. Especially the whole atmosphere makes it an experience and perfect for drinks in Standard afterwards ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Undecided...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First of all, I went to the 52nd street location, but since that is not a review-able option on TripAdvisor, I am tacking my review onto this location

I am somewhat torn on this review, here's why:
-The 52nd street location was great: A little retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the area
-The atmosphere was quite lovely: Candles, good amount of space between tables
-The service: Servers were attentive and accommodating (but the one we had was not necessarily smiley)
-The food: I'd nod my head to it

The bad:
-I got a stomach ache within 30 minutes of finishing the meal - I am not going to necessarily directly relate it to the food at Fig & Olive, but I've thought back to what I ate earlier that day and there really wasn't anything questionable so the evidence seems to point in that direction. Maybe it was just me, but I'm just saying... this doesn't usually happen (luckily) to me. To help narrow it down for you, I had an appetizer (toast with various toppings), sea bass, and an apple tart.

If I hadn't gotten a stomach ache after this prob would have been a 3.5-4 star rating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ate at 52 nd location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Tremondous goat cheese ravioli. Sweet and charming service.
Lovely contemory atmosphere. What a treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, united Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice vibe, good food, great location. But, portions are remarkably small and left us hungry when we left. No affordable wines on the wine list and rushed service. If you are going for the glamour, you'll be happy. If you want to be fed, you'll be finding yourself in the nearest Taco Bell afterwards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig & Olive Meatpacking also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fig & Olive Meatpacking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig & Olive Meatpacking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.