We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Village Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Bistro

Tree Bistro
190 1st Ave, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10009 (East Village)
(212) 358-7171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tree Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #229 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: between 11th and12th st
Transit: Take L train to 1st ave., 6 train to astor place, R/W trains to 8th/NYU, M15 uptown bus to 1st ave./11th st., M15 downtown bus to 2nd ave./12th st. and M8 cross-town bus on 8th st. to 1st ave.
Description: tree serves thoughtfully prepared bistro fare in a casual friendly atmosphere, from small plate charcuterie delights to delectable standards like steamed PEI mussels or steak frites with parmesan truffle fries, along with a full and eclectic seasonal menu. A well rounded wine list, draft and bottled beers, cheese plates and great desserts are also available (don't miss the fried oreo!). Guests can eat in the intimate dining room for a cozy meal, or in the more expansive canopied walled garden - an enchanting secret spot in the heart of the city. The garden is also a great festive space for private parties. Open Tuesday thru Thursday 5-11 pm, Friday & Saturday 5 pm -midnight, delivery service available.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Village Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Cozy and casual, Tree is a great little bistro in The Village. "Worldy Cuisine" is best to describe what Tree is doing here. With a great wait staff, and amazing culinary creativity, Tree is everything you'd want in a casual, neighborhood bistro that you can frequent on a weekly basis. Regulars need only apply.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treerestaurant, Manager at Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you very much.
We do love our regulars but the traveller is more than welcome to drop in too :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in East Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

While staying in the east village for a few nights we tried a couple of lovely restaurants in the area. We walked into Tree Bistro without a reservation on a Saturday night and were pleasantly surprised to get a table right away. The garden area wasn't available but we were seated at a table in this small restaurant that had a spacious feel.
We shared the Waldorf Salad as an appetizer which was very good. The greens were crisp and sweet, the dressing light and tasty. My husband had the mushroom risotto and I the Sea Scallops. Both were prepared nicely and reasonably priced.
Next visit I would like to be seated in the garden area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treerestaurant, Manager at Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your review.
We always try to seat as many people in the garden as is comfortable, especially if you have a reservation & request garden seating.
It is not guarenteed but we always do our best to get you out there :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local spot with interesting dishes and beautiful outdoor patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I are New York locals who recently visited this restaurant with the help of a Groupon! We were immediately delighted to be taken back to their beautiful outdoor patio. The menu offers a great selection that an adventurous eater would be excited to see. They have a number of items from the sea and the land. Some interesting meats that you don't see everyday, and even some smaller portions for the table to share before the meal. I had the fried scallops (great) and steak frittes (also great with a huge portion of fries). My wife enjoyed the mushroom risotto. Overall, we had a great time and look forward to visiting again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treerestaurant, Owner at Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you first for coming in, & secondly for writing about it!
We look forward to having you back, & hopefully earn that last star ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

First off, the food was fantastic. However, it was the experience of dining at Tree that really set it apart. I would highly recommend contacting the restaurant early to arrange a prix fixe meal as I promise it will not disappoint.

Back to the food, Tree had one of the best lamb dishes I've ever had and my wife's mushroom risotto was also delicious. The fromage board was perfect and well balanced. Medium sized wine list but in my opinion there was enough variety and value for most people. The dessert sampler was incredible and nearly the highlight of our meal.

Overall, I can't recommend this hidden restaurant enough. The owner is incredibly gratious and has created an amazing atmosphere. Just go!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treerestaurant, Owner at Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Wow, thank you for the stellar review.
Glad you enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly spot for a great, casual dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Loved this place! In a sometimes anonymous-feeling NYC, it was our first dinner and helped us to feel at home in the city. It has a focused but diverse menu and everything we tried was delicious. A very good wine list and several beers on draft and lovely desserts. A patio behind the main dining room is great for warmer weather. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treerestaurant, Owner at Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
We always do our best :-)
Thank you for coming & hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tree Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.