We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lives up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eileen's Special Cheesecake

Eileen's Special Cheesecake
17 Cleveland Place, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-4052
212-966-5585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It lives up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

On a recent trip to New York, my friend and I tracked down this wonderful place. We found it on tripadvisor and looked at its website. This is what caught our attention. It's brilliant but the song does tend to stick in your head. We shared it with lots of friends so by the time we got there it felt like we were going to a major attraction. It was worth it. I loved the cheesecake and most special of all we met Eileen! It was like meeting a celebrity. There are many styles of cheesecake around so obviously not everybody likes the same but this suited us perfectly. Quite light and the toppings beautiful. How I wish we could have taken some home.
We shall tell everybody about it and can't wait to revisit in October with my husband who loves cheesecake even more then I do.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    108
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Say cheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It's good but over hyped.
We had better cheese cakes in town. The NY Cheese cake is a dense experience. One expect that. Eileen's doesn't deliver that experience but a lighter version of it. Moreover, the crust is a lot of that experience - the one we had failed at the crust test!
If you are at China town or Little Italy buy a couple of the small cakes and hover to the nearby seating park. Don't feel obliged to travel across town. My verdict 3/5.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great cheesecake, small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The cheesecake is great, but the place is very small, don´t expect to sit and enjoy your cheesecake within the premises. There is a park right across the street though, so sitting is not really a problem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very creamy and delicious cheesecake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The place is a tiny little friendly shop. The freshness of the cakes and the friendly service makes it impossible not to go back as soon as I get to New York again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this treat of a place in SoHo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I had read many good things about Eileen's Special Cheesecake before our family went to New York for a trip, and it lived up to my expectations, easily. I wish I could have brought the place back home with me. You can pick up cheesecakes of various sizes, of course, but they have a great selection of round, individual servings that are an excellent snack and pick-me-up when shopping nearby in either SoHo or China Town. Fortunately, Eileen's also ships, so you can bet I will have some of those coming down South before long.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eileen's Special Cheesecake also viewed

 

Been to Eileen's Special Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eileen's Special Cheesecake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.