We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am still dreaming about these cakes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eileen's Special Cheesecake

Eileen's Special Cheesecake
17 Cleveland Place, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-4052 (Nolita)
212-966-5585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 218 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Nolita
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I am still dreaming about these cakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This will be the best cheesecake you will ever eat. The selection is amazing! The atmosphere is very basic but it is still kind of quaint with all of the pictures of the different people who have been to this café. When I was there, they were filming a television show for the food network so that was cool.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    147
    48
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglaston, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth every calorie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Love, love, love their cheesecakes! Enjoyed every flavor of their mini cheesecakes. Always satisfy. Make a trip here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Thank you James Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife wanted to find this place after watching a James Martin programme where he proclaimed it made and served the best cheesecake in the world !!! It's a small little place on a street corner but don't let that fool you !! It's completely unspoilt and they make on sight and serve the most wonderful ranges of cheesecake. They also from this shop distribute orders made from all over the US. Staff were very chatty and knowledgeable on its history (its been there since the late 1970's) and the walls are adorned with pictures of very famous and not so famous customers. The actual cheesecake, well I had a strawberry one and my daughter had a chocolate cookie one and they were just absolutely Devine !!

I'm so pleased we went here so thank you James Martin and Eileen's Cheesecake Shop !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well Worth the exploration to find it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I knew that it was near Sara Rooselvelt's park. After that, it was hard to find. We were about to give up and then we looked up, and there it was. You expect it to be much bigger (not sure I would call it a Restaurant!) As with the other review, the assistant explained what the cakes were. The mini cheesecakes were lovely costing $3.50 each. Dont know if that is expensive by US standards or not. We went back for seconds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cheesecake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The street that Eileen's cheesecake was located on was not exactly the most easy to find. But when we got there, we got a great greeting from the owner and she presented us the cheesecake. She took the time to explain each cheesecake's flavor and we chose the strawberry, cookies' n cream and raspberry .They were heavenly. It was fluffy, creamy, soft and has that explosion of flavor. I couldn't stop eating!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eileen's Special Cheesecake also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eileen's Special Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eileen's Special Cheesecake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.