We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am still dreaming about these cakes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eileen's Special Cheesecake

Eileen's Special Cheesecake
17 Cleveland Pl, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-4052
212-966-5585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I am still dreaming about these cakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This will be the best cheesecake you will ever eat. The selection is amazing! The atmosphere is very basic but it is still kind of quaint with all of the pictures of the different people who have been to this café. When I was there, they were filming a television show for the food network so that was cool.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    264
    75
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglaston, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth every calorie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Love, love, love their cheesecakes! Enjoyed every flavor of their mini cheesecakes. Always satisfy. Make a trip here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Thank you James Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife wanted to find this place after watching a James Martin programme where he proclaimed it made and served the best cheesecake in the world !!! It's a small little place on a street corner but don't let that fool you !! It's completely unspoilt and they make on sight and serve the most wonderful ranges of cheesecake. They also from this shop distribute orders made from all over the US. Staff were very chatty and knowledgeable on its history (its been there since the late 1970's) and the walls are adorned with pictures of very famous and not so famous customers. The actual cheesecake, well I had a strawberry one and my daughter had a chocolate cookie one and they were just absolutely Devine !!

I'm so pleased we went here so thank you James Martin and Eileen's Cheesecake Shop !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well Worth the exploration to find it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I knew that it was near Sara Rooselvelt's park. After that, it was hard to find. We were about to give up and then we looked up, and there it was. You expect it to be much bigger (not sure I would call it a Restaurant!) As with the other review, the assistant explained what the cakes were. The mini cheesecakes were lovely costing $3.50 each. Dont know if that is expensive by US standards or not. We went back for seconds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb cheesecake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The street that Eileen's cheesecake was located on was not exactly the most easy to find. But when we got there, we got a great greeting from the owner and she presented us the cheesecake. She took the time to explain each cheesecake's flavor and we chose the strawberry, cookies' n cream and raspberry .They were heavenly. It was fluffy, creamy, soft and has that explosion of flavor. I couldn't stop eating!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eileen's Special Cheesecake also viewed

 

Been to Eileen's Special Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eileen's Special Cheesecake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.