We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, best cheesecake I've ever had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eileen's Special Cheesecake

Eileen's Special Cheesecake
17 Cleveland Place, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-4052
212-966-5585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“WOW, best cheesecake I've ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

During our recent trip to NYC, I wanted to try several "authentic" NYC cheesecakes to see which was the best. It was hands down, no contest Eileen's. The shop is definitely quaint and small with limited seating; a classic hole in the wall joint. Eileen herself was extremely friendly describing the cheesecakes to us and we got 2 minis at $3.50 a piece. We tried the new salted caramel and the chocolate with chocolate drizzle. Both were exceptional! Not as heavy, thick and sugary like a Junior's or Cheesecake Factory slice and didn't give you that head ache sugar rush. It was more light and fluffy and the crust moist and crumbly. If you are looking for the best NYC cheesecake, definitely give this place a try; you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    108
    36
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
710 reviews 710 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“Nothing ready-made for this vegan to sample!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was told that Eileen's makes a vegan/tofu cheesecake, but when I got there, I was told that they only make it full-size, and you have to order it ahead of time. So while my family members got to try a couple of different small cheesecakes and raved about how good it was, there was nothing for me. Well, if I want a vegan cheesecake, I will definitely be going elsewhere!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quite frustrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After seeing the great comments here we went to try Eileen's special cheesecake.
Quite frustrated, they are not special at all and are just ok, nothing more.
I prefer much more the one my sister prepares herself!
Nice staff, though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“It's just a cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When you look at the top 10 restaurants in New York, you'll see Eileen's Special Cheesecake. Who doesn't loves cakes? Especially when they advertise themselves as "Special". Needless to say, we took the subway downtown, and headed to Eileen's. It's easy to find when you are using your mobile GPS [Wayz]. I took a picture from across the street and couldn't believe it's such a small place. Sometimes you can find a treasure in a small shop. Since there was no place to seat, we chose 2 cakes from the display, and went to find a cup of coffee elsewhere. The cakes were good, but I think I've had a few better in my life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST cheesecake ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Cannot describe how GOOD it was. My husband does not like cheesecakes but he loved this one! we even returned specifically to the neigthborhood to eat it again before coming back to our country. NO words to describe its excellent flavour! do not miss it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eileen's Special Cheesecake also viewed

 

Been to Eileen's Special Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eileen's Special Cheesecake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.