We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emmett O'Lunney's Harmony View Bar & Grill
210 W 50th St, Between Broadway & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
+1 212-957-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #885 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We used this bar a few times during our recent stay in New York. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere very relaxing. We tried a few different meals and they were all very good. The bar is in a good location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    102
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Irish type bar and grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stopped for lunch one day as it was just down the street from our hotel. Early afternoon so it was quiet inside except for the blaring music from the "background music" system. Why do restaurants always feel they have to have such loud background music? Makes it hard to talk, you have to talk louder, then the people around you have to talk louder, then eventually now one can hear anyone. I don't understand it.

We had a very nice waitress, I asked her if they could turn the music down, she went and asked someone and they turned it down to a quiet murmur. Very nice. For a few minutes. Then someone turned it up again.

Other than that we had a pleasant lunch except they were out of NY cheesecake. How can a NY restaurant be out of NY cheesecake? Every trip to NY I dream of getting to eat REAL NY cheesecake. And they were out of it.

Other than the loud music system and the lack of NY cheesecake, a very pleasant place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Called in for a quick lunch the other day. Were seated promptly and drinks came quickly. Ordered a nachos as it came with fresh lettuce and tomato along with guacamole it was great, nice fresh taste, partner had bangers and mash which he devoured. We're pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and clean in Theatre District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found this restaurant on TA, and again, reviews were accurate. Servers were very friendly, the host exceedingly nice, an more importantly the pub food was quite good. Partner has a large salad and I had a veggie burger. Beer selection is very good (not great), but $7.00 for a draft is still pricey. Place has unusual decorations, including some neon signs that look like they were originally on the outside of former restaurants. One thing that impressed me was the cleanliness of the restaurant, including the bathrooms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice meal with friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the first restaurant we tried upon our arrival on our first ever trip to NYC. It was a good meal with comfort-type food. I had the chicken pot pie for $16.95. It was loaded with chicken under a nice, flaky crust. A little higher priced than it would have been at home in Ohio, but for New York City, not a bad price. The atmosphere is like a pub, with lots of dark wood and a waitress who was actually from Ireland. The accent gave her away immediately. This place was a good start to our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmett O'Lunney's Harmony View Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Emmett O'Lunney's Harmony View Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emmett O'Lunney's Harmony View Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.