We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Central Park to your Saves list
AKA Central Park
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for a week in this hotel and we really enjoyed it. Comfortable, spacious rooms with a fully equipped kitchenette. But, being in the city we only used the refrigerator to keep our drinks cool. For morning coffee we crossed the street to the Green Cafe and at the Well Green Market at 1413 Avenue of the Americas (6th Avenue) you can compose your own lunch/diner if you don't want to go out and eat.

Public transport at Columbus Circle, on 6th Avenue and on 5th av/59 st will take you anywhere you want to go. Be sure to get a map!
Central Park: the first morning we woke up very early because of the jetlag and it is really fun to walk in Central Park at 6 am, watching the cyclist and joggers enter the park.
Walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, MoMA, Radio City Music Hall and more attractions, combined with a great room is the reason we really recommend AKA for a longer stay. It is not cheap, but great value for money.
And the always present and friendly doorman will kindly open the door when you enter or leave the hotel......;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
107
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First time to New York and this was a great location to base ourselves for 10 days, close to Central Park and Columbus Circle. The room was spacious and well equipped with a microwave, fridge and sink. The staff were really five star, they ensured we were look after in every aspect of our stay. If we had a question they had the answer and knew how to assist. The AKA was an easy walk to Times Square, the subway and 5th Avenue. The bed was conformable, linens and towels were good quality. The room was very clean and well appointed. The air conditioner was difficult to get just right, but did the job. Choices for places to eat and visit within the block were excellent. Highly recommend the AKA to travellers, I know we will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose rooms above the fifth floor just to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Being a reluctant city traveller I chose AKA Central Park for the obvious reason of being near Central Park. The location was fantastic. The suite was very large and extremely well equipped.
The staff well informed and friendly. Request answered so quickly it was laughable. The walk home from Times Square was no problem. Do not use the pedicabs they are very expensive. Absolutely loved NY and would definitely return to AKA Central Park.

Room Tip: We loved the suite for the convenience of a well equipped kitchen and separate lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the AKA for a little over a week on a holiday visit from Australia.

For a tourist who had never been to NYC before I would recommend the AKA for a couple of good points:

1. The location is great. I spent my second week down in Times Square which is close to the bright lights but is also like being in a football stadium 24/7. AKAs midtown location is a bit more 'relaxed' as far as Manhattan goes but still convenient to short subway rides or walks to all the other bits. Manahattan isn't actually all that big compared to the importance of location in, say, Sydney.

If you are, in particular, wanting to spend time seeing Broadway shows, Central park, the Metropolitan, the Lincoln Centre, or shopping 5th Ave then I think this is ideal.

2. The staff are used to long stay visitors and international visitors. They were always ready to help but far less intrusive than was my experience in another high end hotel. Its just good service, less pretence, and I like that.

3. Very comfortable air conditioned rooms with a high standard of cleanliness. The aircon was noisy - but it is also worked against New York humidity and heat with good success. There is a pretty good gym in the building, a lounge bar I didn't go to but looked nice, and a good cafe nextdoor with excellent morning after coffee and omlettes. There is a business centre if you must.

The only downside is that my room was internally facing, so I had a nice view of a brick wall. Thats not usual in Manhattan - if you want rolling hills then you are in the wrong place - but if it is an issue for you then you will need to address it specifically in your booking/check in. I wouldn't personally spend the extra money for a central park view - its just around the corner.

This is an ideal base for touring New York, and a welcome refuge to return to after a hard day of touring and before heading out for the evening.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay. Its only weakness is that, if you want the grand view from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wonderful Hotel, wonderful staff-Thanks Jessica for securing our fabulous room with a balcony.
The suites are spacious, beds incredibly comfortable-everything anyone could want!
Location is amazing, close to everything.
We will return and you should too!

Room Tip: Higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful accommodation with all mod cons and comfort! Where you stay makes all the difference to your holiday or business trip. Free washing and laundry facilities and 24 hour reception. Stay AKA, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Sorry for the dramatic title, although it is true. With the help of this hotel (Thanks Jessica) I was able to create an amazing night for my girlfriend and at the end of it propose and get a yes!
Given I am located in Australia, it would be hard going planning a proposal in New York although after talking with management at this hotel, They not only helped with the plan they also went over and above their call of duty to make it an Amazing night. Flowers, candles, champaign, and even a horse ride through central park and a fireplace on the roof top terrace to snuggle up in front of. Loved every moment. I was staying in the penthouse for 2 nights and the room was amazing. We did not stay in the hotel that much as the location was amazing as well. One street away from Central park and near all the action.

If and when I come back to NY I would stay at this hotel again. Thanks again and if you are reading this, I can not recommend this hotel enough. As I said, it changed my life :)

Room Tip: Pent hose is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.