We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Central Park to your Saves list
AKA Central Park
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
XXXXX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week in October 2013 with my teenaged daughter. We had a wonderful time. I'm a Central Park fanatic so the location was perfect. Great for shopping and touring the city too. Staff were great. One bedroom with balcony was fantastic as Oct weather is still nice for sitting out for a cup of coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
107
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was fortunate enough to live here in a 1 bed apartment for 2.5month, & it feels like a home away from home. The rooms are spacious (although why the sofa is not a pull out bed, i do not understand) The fully functional kitchen had a stove, microwave & fridge bigger than my own at home. That is why breakfast isn't included. The bathroom products are great, linens are cleaned constantly, the house keeping staff, do an amazing job, nothing is too much trouble. One of the great things is the laundry in the basement, free washers/dryers & detergent, a real bonus when staying somewhere for so long. The staff are amazing, from the doormen to the cleaners, everyone is genuinely friendly. The bar doesn't have any atoms, unless there is a function on, they really need for that to have a separate entrance to the street, then they might get more customers, like the cafe does. The gym is well equipped and in the whole time i lived there was never overly busy.
They say location, location, location. AKA is cross the street from The Plaza, which also has the most delicious food court, so just it is just 1 street back from Central Park. 5th Ave is a 2 min walk away. The F train on 6th, or N,Q,R on 5th, means you can really get anywhere fast. There is a supermarket just at the end of the street on 6th, but its worth walking 5 mins more to 57th, to Morton Williams supermarket, the choice is much better. If you walk 10 mins to Columbus Cir there is a massive Whole Foods, that does amazing sushi. From AKA you can walk to almost all the tourist hotspots, except the ferry. 5th has too many tourists to get anywhere fast, but 6th, 7th, Broadway & 8th are usually quicker. For timings, it usually takes a min to walk a block & 1.5 mins to walk a street.
I have stayed in lots of hotels and apartments but never one that felt like had come home at the end of a day at work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went on a business trip to NYC in December which we extended for the weekend.
It was a great choice the hotel. The location is very central and close to many restaurants and bars.. the shops were in walking distance too ;-)

We got an free upgrade to the 1 bedroom appartement which suited us best. The kitchen was great so we had our breakfast always 'at home' and left afterwards to concer the city. There are several stores around the corner you can get bagels etc and all the tools were available the kitchen (like toaster).

We had a small issue with the room service since we were 2 girls sharing a king bed.. we wanted to have indiviual sheets.. which we got from the room service, but next day there was one sheet again. 3rd day.. perfect.. 2 sheets (nicely split in the middle) ;-)

The rooms were very big and the bathroom very stylish.

I can really recommed this hotel by price/value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Probably all has already been said here, but it's central location, the proximity of public transport, etc.. really makes this stay worthwhile.

Staff was great and the place was clean.

The airco could maybe be updated with more silent version in this age, but still no complaints.

Around the corner there are small supermarkets and pharmacy, so you never feel like going far for food, drink or supplies of any kind.

Reheating your doggy bag is easy and quickly served with the kitchenware available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really convenient location at the bottom of Central Park& handy to a couple of subway stops. Easy walking to most attractions and if not then an easy cab ride.
Apartment rooms bigger than hotel rooms hence the attraction. AKA has a laundry room where you can do your own laundry with complimentary detergent and driers.
As others have noted, breakfast is not included but there are plenty of options close by and some well stocked deli's & supermarkets.
The coffee in the downstairs cafe was one of the best we had in New York (NYC does not do great coffee).
Overall a great location with spacious rooms and helpful service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

With a family of 5 requiring 2 rooms in NYC it can get expensive. AKA Central Park proves you can stay centrally in a lovely apartment and have plenty left over with which to play. Definitely look into it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staying at AKA Central Park was a good choice I made . I loved the location nearby 5th avenue and 2 subways station to reach other parts of NYC .
The price was exaggerated little bit ! Especially it did not include breakfast.
However , I recommend this hotel if you would like to stay couple of days in NYC.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.