We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to the hype.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
72 Central Park N, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Improve this listing
Ranked #628 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location, great atmosphere, great staff, great service.......just one problem the food was well below average. I was expecting more from the menu than burgers and fish and chips. It was not cheap either.

Come for a drink and enjoy everything the boat house has to offer, just don't stay for the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    118
    35
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Asking for tips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place in every way except the bar staff.while we waited for our table we had a drink from the bar.so I am at the bar and orders two glass of red a glass of white and a vodka and coke price. 41 dollars.when paid a female member of staff said "YOU HAVE NOT TIPPED ME" I know America is the tipping capital of the world I am here every year but to ask for tips "SHAME ON YOU"..........this was the only let down of the night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant for Special Occasions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went here for our daughter's birthday during a visit to Manhattan. Nice to dress up, although not all diners did which was a shame. The setting was lovely and the food was too - not cheap but worth it for a special occasion!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad we stepped inside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here. Great service, good food, relaxed atmosphere, reasonable prices. Work up an appetite by rowing on the lake first. If you're only looking for a drink, there's indoor and outdoor space available. Good for couples, friends and families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere South of Watford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great views and good food. Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The most difficult part to visiting this restaurant was getting a table - which tells you something about its popularity.
We didn't book, and had been warned that it could be a long wait after visiting the previous day - but we chanced it and were rewarded with a table after about 10 minutes.
Great views over the boating lake. The atmosphere had a nice buzz without being too loud, and (mercifully) no piped music!
We had the same waiter throughout, and he was quick, attentive, good-humoured and knowledgeable regarding the menu.
The food was very good, and the prices weren't too bad - a bit above average, but you get what you pay for.
Overall, a very enjoyable experience. Would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.