We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Manhattan Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Carlos Hotel to your Saves list
San Carlos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New York Manhattan Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

this was a really nice hotel and in a good area. it was a quiet road and we had a back room which was a nice room but no view, spacious for the 4 of us, with microwave and fridge. breakfast was ok and it filled us up. we would take fruit and danish pasties with us to eat later on. there was nice restaurants in the area epecially if you turn right when coming out of the hotel. Staff were very polite and kept our luggage for us as we had a late flight and even orgnaised us a private taxi to the airport which cost $60. not bad between the 4 of us and we left this hotel at 3.30pm and arrived exactly at 4.30 at JFK. as there were 4 of us we used the yellow cabs to get about and that cost around $10 and we would give $2 tip. still very cheap. the hotel provided umbrellas which was good as we didnt bring ours.

Room Tip: even we didnt have agood view, didnt bother us as we left the hotel 9 in the morning and returned la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    285
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
402
163
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 day stay here and cannot praise it too highly. Conveniently placed about 5 minutes walk from Lexington Avenue subway on either E 51st or 53rd Street. Everything you could want in a hotel room is there - tea/coffee making facilities, microwave (together with crockery and cutlery), iron and ironing board, trouser press, hair dryer. TV, clock radio and - a big bonus - lots of sockets so you can charge all your gadgets at the same time! Free wi-fi as well. The room was large, with two queen beds and the most comfortable mattress I have ever had in a hotel. It was at the back of the hotel and therefore had no view, but also had NO traffic noise. In fact, once in the room there was no noise at all. Plenty of pastries, muffins, yoghurt etc. for breakfast. If I return to New York in the future I would have no hesitation in staying at the San Carlos again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

While the hotel itself is in good condition, the front-desk service is among the poorest I have ever experienced. When I arrived at 3:30 PM on Wednesday, June 4, the young male clerk was unwilling to accommodate my previous request for a room on a high-floor overlooking 50th Street. I had made my reservation on the hotel's website - and prepaid ( a big mistake)! Finally, he did offer me a smoking room; but, since I have never smoked, I didn't think I should begin that night. My experience went from bad to worse: Once inside the room, my phone had no connection to the internet!!! The clerk offered to send up an engineer, but not to change my room. At 9:00 PM I received a call from the hotel: Seems they had located a front-facing room! AVOID!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetM150, Director of Sales at San Carlos Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We always appreciate our guest's feedback and look to improve upon our services from all reviews.
I hope to be able to clarify any misunderstanding that may have occurred. I have reviewed your reservation and do see a guest comment noting a request for a high floor facing 50th St. Please note, comments are on a "request basis" and not confirmed. We always strive to do our best to accommodate guest requests, but there are times when it is beyond our control. The hotel was completely sold out and since most accommodations facing the front are suites, the room type (deluxe queen or king room) you confirmed was not available facing 50th Street. You were offered a high floor facing the front, but it was a smoking room which understandably, as a non-smoker, you declined. The room you accepted was the room type you confirmed. We tried to check the WIFI connection upon receiving your comment that it was not working, but you had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. We subsequently checked the WIFI service and found no evident problem. Occasionally, there are weak connections with individual devices. Based on your concerns and comments, our Assistant Manager stayed alert to any accommodation changes, and when a cancellation arrived that evening, he contacted you immediately to ask if you would like to change rooms to an "upgraded" Junior Suite at no additional expense. He also offered to facilitate the move for you, which you opted to decline.
We pride ourselves on the usual fine service we provide to our guests as indicated in the numerous excellent comments on TripAdvisor.
Again, I hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

Sincerely,
Janet Materi
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I booked a suite with a king size bed and a sofa bed for my two boys. The room was huge! It included a little kitchenette, a desk, and the sofa space. I felt I was not cramped with my two boys in one room. Service is awesome. For example, the clerk at the desk did a magic trick for my boys. Also when I called for help with the safe and they came literally within one minute of my putting the phone headset down. They don't have an ice machine on the floor but as soon as you call, you can expect a knock on the door with an ice bucket within minutes. Wow! A definite come back with the family,

Room Tip: I believe I booked on travelocity for a lower rate. My room was on the 3rd floor but I can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We loved staying at the San Carlos. The location was great, staff were always so friendly and it was a lovely, quiet base to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was fine, and even though it was busy most mornings, we still managed to get a table each time. The rooms were great for our family of five, and very affordable for New York City. Would stay here again when in New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Only good things I have to say about this hotel - great location, courteous and professional service, room very large and comfortable, very comfortable beds, and a very good shower.
What bothered me most in this hotel was the breakfast which included hot and cold drinks and carbohydrates. There were not eggs and vegetables at breakfast, but I guess it's some kind of standard in the city hotels.
Really bothered me that submitted the breakfast for disposables ..... it's very environmentally unfriendly.
If you want a small and comfortable hotel, excellent environment in the city, close to almost anywhere a small distance from the subway, then this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel based on the Tripadvisor comments and were not dissapointed. Room and bathroom were nice and clean with a good continental breakfast included. Service was excellent from all the staff beeing Bobby an outstanding help.We recommend strongly this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#25 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#113 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality Ho...
#60 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,605 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt 48 Lex
Hyatt 48 Lex
#130 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Carlos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.