We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Carlos Hotel to your Saves list
San Carlos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location to start with. St. Patrick' s Church, Rockefeller Centre and Time square are just 2-3 blocks away. All the people who work at the hotel are very kind- one of them- Bobby- was extremely friendly and helpful. Our double room with two Queen size beds was very comfortable and clean. We were at the third floor and had almost never daylight, but I guess it's not uncommon for NY. We were lacking some variety at breakfast, at least some eggs (in any form) or ham or cheese would have been appreciated on our side. All in all: very happy with our stay at the SC hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    226
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
299
130
24
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent location in midtown Manhattan, 2 blocks from St Patrick’s. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean rooms and the staff was first rate. The hotel provides a breakfast and the WIFI worked well. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: take the room with the 2 queens over the King with a pullout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Location was ideal. Staff were ALL friendly and helpful. We stayed on 6th floor on the street, and the street was very noisy all night with construction going on.This may be a one-time only construction street project. Windows did not seem to be soundproofed. Will definitely return but ask for a room on a higher floor and in rear of the building. Not an updated hotel, but clean, spacious rooms and close to everything. Priced right. We stayed in a queen suite--5 adults with a roll-away bed added. Plenty of room. Continental breakfast included was a plus.

Room Tip: Request a high floor in rear of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the San Carlos Hotel for 2 nights and it was just superb! The staff were so friendly, nothing was ever a big deal. They were more than happy to help with anything. The location of this hotel is perfect, it was quiet at night, and yet in either direction its easy to get a cab, everything from the touristy sites to going to a business meeting. I would highly recommend staying here. The room I stayed in was very spacious, I had everything from a mini fridge to microwave, so those evenings when you dont feel like dealing with the crowds you can get some peace and quiet in your room. Free internet is always a plus specially when travelling on business. I loved the way the hotel left chocolates on your pillow and drew the blinds every evening for you. That was a very nice touch and something not expected. Love, love that!
Great value for money and service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The San Carlos really is superb. Excellent location about a mile from Central Park, a mile from Empire State, half a mile from Rockerfeller Centre. staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room really was excellent. The separate lounge with kitchenette, fridge, microwave, sink and crockery. There was a pull out sofa bed and a table and chairs.the other bedroom was separate with bathroom through. Showers and toiletries superb. Really very very clean throughout.
The reason we only gave 4 stars was because of the breakfast. It was Easter weekend and the hotel was full, so breakfast was served in the Indian restaurant adjoining.The coffee was poor, orange juice was from a dubious looking orange plastic container, there were green apples and red apples, yogurts if you knew who to ask, Rice Krispies, presliced bread, bagels, croissants etc all served in the Indian restaurant on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and paper cups. The lighting and music were poor and service nowhere near as attentive and friendly as the staff in the main hotel. We resorted to going out and finding our own breakfasts after 3 days of this, only to find that on the last day the hotels breakfast area was open and serving breakfast. What a difference, great coffee, real orange juice, lovely choice of bagels, pastries, yogurts, bananas and apples.So my question is why was it ok to serve inferior breakfast in adjoining restaurant when busy? Surely it should have been to the same std then this would have been 5 stars!

Room Tip: We had room 601 king executive suite facing front and It was by the lift, but no problems getting to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I travel to NYC once a year for business and every year I scour Trip Advisor for hotel ratings and reviews. While on my latest trip I toured a hotel with a higher review rating than the San Carlos and all I can imagine is that none of these reviewers have stayed at the San Carlos. There was no comparision. I've yet to find something to write negatively about. The rooms are spotless and very classy and tastefully decorated (I read a prior review that the hotel needs upgrading but not sure why). The hotel staff is undeniably the best (backed up by the fact that the same bellmen and front desk personnel have been the same people ever since I've been staying there).

The location is perfect, a nice walk to every corner of NYC, 10 minutes to Times Square, 10 minutes to Central Park. The street feels very safe and, if you get a room at the back, it's very quiet.

This is where I will be staying next year, and the year after that, etc.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back if light traffic noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for six days in April. Service was good, and mini suite with extra room was brilliant with boys, who we could leave to go to sleep whilst we watched a bit more telly of an evening. Great to have the extra room. Service was good, and concierge was great, helping out with bookings etc. Very good position, walkable to some sights, and 3 minute walk to subway station. Hotel owner great - and even did a magic trick for the boys! Not cheap by any means, but would thoroughly recommend.
Only regret is that the Knicks lost the night we went to see them at the Garden!!

Room Tip: Mini sutie with two queen beds was great for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Carlos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, San Carlos is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;