We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and amazing city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Carlos Hotel to your Saves list
San Carlos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We travelled here with our 2 children in 2007 but have only reviewed this now and it was and has always been one of the best holidays we have had as a family.
We were in NY for a friends wedding which took place on Brooklyn Bridge....which was a beautiful location for such a special occasion.
We all loved the hotel and the room/suite was fantastic and was massive even for the four of us.
The breakfast had a great variety and the kids loved all that was offered.
Cant fault the hotel or our experience of NY, loved every minute and cant wait to go back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    286
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
405
164
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We searched for a place to stay during our vacation to NYC. We were pleasantly surprised at how large the rooms were and how nice the staff was. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and compared to suites in Dallas, these were very roomy for New York. The location is great. Minutes from Grand Central, times square, and the subway. The staff was also very accommodating. We will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed in the city for a day, but the San Carlos' staff was so helpful in finding me a town car and offering great advice on obtaining broadway tickets! It's not too close to time square... About 10-20 blocks. The bell hop, Matthew, was the most helpful- he actually chased down a driver who could take me to JFK! All around, the best hotel I've stayed at in the USA!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We ordered a junior suite for 3 people with king sized bed, we received a small room with very small bath with a queen size bed. The room not renovated for a long time and the view was of the brick wall of the next building, certainly not convenient for 43 people. The staff was very responsive and polite, breakfast was average and the exercise room small and not welcoming. The location is good, RSTMN 6/10

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in San Carlos for 3 nights and had a really good sized quad room. The hotel is in a great location close to popular subway lines and within walking distance of the Rock and Gran Central. We had breakfast with our package which was basic but all good. Staff were great too and let us have our room for an extra hour or so on the last day.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

stayed in the hotel for 6 days on a family special birthday trip with wife and daughters (18th and 21st)
free upgrade to large adjoining rooms 3 tv's two kitchens two bathrooms and a lounge.
very central for visiting major sites rockefeller 7 min walk.
rooms very clean and quite spacious.
excellent free complimentary continental break fast.
excellent diner straight across from hotel
would recommend and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is my second visit to the San Carlos and I di request the same room at the back in order to have a quiet room. Staff were attentive, efficient and friendly again, I did sleep well. The room was very spacious ( king size bedrooms are bigger)- no view as it was at the back but that was not an issue for me , though next time I will request a room on a higher floor for more light.
The room has the usual coffee machine etc and I request a kettle so I could make tea, which was delivered very quickly.
Breakfast is OK - nothing to write home about but a selection of breads and pasties, yoghurt etc. A bowl of large apples is provided but to be honest, some other fruit would be a good addition.
I can recommend the hotel for good value, good night's sleep and service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but lower floors are also quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#25 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#87 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,983 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#111 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality Ho...
#61 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,609 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt 48 Lex
Hyatt 48 Lex
#129 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Carlos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.