We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Carlos Hotel to your Saves list
San Carlos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Vermont
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

In New York City, it's often hard to find a spacious room that's extremely clean and quiet. The San Carlos is a terrific hotel for business travel when you're looking for a really good night's sleep. There are no real frills and the decor is quite simple, but it was a great home-base for meetings in the city. The king sized bed in my room was extremely comfortable, and Aveda products were available in the bathroom. Everyone on the staff was helpful and accomodating.

It's also a great location at 50th and 3rd. There's a TreeHaus with awesome smoothies/juices right down the road. Dos Caminos (high-end Mexican) is right across the street. Ess-a-Bagel is one block down and across the street. It's easy to walk to Rockefeller Center/Times Square.

I will be staying here again on my next business trip. If you want a boutique hotel with funky decor, I might look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good rate and good night's sleep, this will do nicely!

Room Tip: I asked for a king-sized bed and was put on the fifth floor towards an alley, which contributed to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    246
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
317
136
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spacious rooms,lovely comfortable beds and quiet for New York - well soundproofed compared to other hotels. The staff were amazing - gracious, helpful and efficient.
The rooms have a coffee maker and microwave - no kettle for tea but you can boil water in the microwave.
My only gripe would be that the breakfast was spoilt for me by the use of paper plates, cups and plastic cutlery - this does seem to be the norm in the US but all the same, I find it tacky in a good hotel.


i will certainly choose this hotel for any other trips to New York as it is great value as well as being super comfortable

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet ( but a bit dark on the lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The stay was very comfortable. Staff was polite and courteous. Location is great. Subway near by is great advantage. The breakfast was okay could be made more attractive. The market places are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over the 2012 Christmas period - great location (if you want to be walking distance to Rockefeller Centre and that general area, and very handy to Metro system - about a 200m walk, or 500m, depending on which line you are getting. We had a family suite, which was a lounge room with a large queen size sofa bed, and then a second room with two double beds - all very comfortable and plenty of space for the 4 of us (two adults and two teenage children). Having a galley kitchen was great (but no stove top, just microwave). Service was good and would highly recommend this as a good family option (not always easy to find hotel accom for a family that is good value for money). There can be a bit of noise coming up from the street, but this is central New York and I suspect that would be the case in most places in the area unless you can get a room on a much higher floor (we were on the 6th floor)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The San Carlos is a real home away. The rooms are very well taken care of, the staff are great. The location is very convenient on East 50th, with plenty of resturants in walking distance. The gym is very good for a small hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Okay, I tried to be open minded. I used to nice hotels.. five star, world class hotels. But, I just couldn't bear this hotel and left after a couple hours stay and went to the local Hyatt, which was awesome!!

I left because the room was very cold and the air blew right on my bed. It could not be turned off and the heat (which was a water register, fueled by a boiler in the basement) would not come on. After hearing my colleagues complain about the heat or air that could not be regulated in their room and attempting to sleep through street noise, I made a direct departure for a more modern hotel, which work out like a charm and cost no more.

Room Tip: high as possible to avoid street noise but, if you're not a city dweller, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Carlos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, San Carlos is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.