We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice NYC hotel option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Carlos Hotel to your Saves list
San Carlos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another nice NYC hotel option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stay in the city each quarter for work and we seem to try a different hotel each time. The San Carlos Hotel had the best rate this time, in the midst of the craziness with the holiday time, and it was a nice place to stay. My initial impression was not positive. I stopped by early to see if I could check in before my meeting and the man at the front desk just seemed to want to chat....and chat....and chat. 10 minutes later, I was able to finally find out a room wasn't ready. No problem, but it didn't need to take that long. When I finally checked in at 5:30, I was given a handicapped room which just had some interesting things in the bathroom. Otherwise, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and I was impressed that the room had a small refrigerator (in addition to the mini bar), microwave, and a drawer that contained plates and silverware. That was a very nice touch. It was quiet and had a comfortable bed so I'd stay again if the price was right!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    295
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
420
166
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After alot of trawling for a fab place to stay this was perfect. Location walkable to times square, 5th avenue and close to tube stations. Local people in the area friendly and fab bagel place on 3rd ave and funky rooftop bar directly across the road. The darker style rooms were a blessing for resting and the breakfast is a nice touch that it's free but as been said before don't worry if you miss it. The staff are lovely and helpful and the rooms kept spotless. The beds and pillows were fantastic along with the small bathtub to rest your feet. It was good to have tea/coffee fascilities in the room. We would stay again if we are to come back to NYC. P.S. the Indian restaurant next door is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed this time only one night at the San Carlos hotel. But it was already my fourth stay here. So it starts with a greeted curb side by the doorman who took my suitcase right to the front desk. The check in at the front desk staff was polite and professional but a little bit "cold" . The room was again really nice, clean, though unfortunately not the "suite size I had experienced last times(was realy an upgrade at that time). It had a small sitting room, with all what you needed in your room, refrigerator, coffee, trousers iron,....Excellent location in mid Manhattan, good breakfast for NY standards(all included). Certainly You'll see me back again for business and leisure

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I LOVE the San Carlos! The rooms are exceptionally clean with great amenities. The staff was wonderfully attentive without being overbearing. They went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable and give "idiot proof" directions to this tourist. The quiet elegance of the hotel was comforting against the hustle and bustle of the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamá
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the San Carlos for 5 days over Thanksgiving and it was just perfect. The rooms are large for NYC standards. Very easy access, convenient location, clean and confortable rooms. No luxuries but well kept.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband, college-age son and I stayed in the executive suite at the San Carlos hotel for the second time this year. We're ex NYers and appreciate the convenience of the location. The executive suite is perfectly designed for 2 or 3 people. It features a pullout sofa in a sitting area as well as a small kitchen. So handy. The linens and appointments are top notch. The rooms are spotless and comfy. The room includes a buffet breakfast. The staff is the best.

Room Tip: The executive suite is very convenient with a sitting area and small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was surprised when the owner of the hotel, presented to me and my family last january. He said, its good that the boss pay attention to you! Effectively, the attention of the hotel is good, the rooms are clear and clean. You feel confortable in the middle of town, next to the train, the museums and the big avenues of New York.

Room Tip: Non Smokers rooms are better! No corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#29 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#91 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#106 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,657 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality Ho...
#60 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt 48 Lex
Hyatt 48 Lex
#131 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Carlos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.