We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel but disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Roger to your Saves list
The Roger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Madison Avenue, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for 2 Included!
Ranked #204 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Cute hotel but disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here last weekend through a promotion we found on Jetsetter (formerly SniqueAway). I was very excited to stay at this property because of its' location. Although I have read various reviews, the photos looked appealing. It was our one year anniversary, something I mentioned upon check in but no one seemed to care. The woman at the checkout just smiled and handed us the key to a room that was tucked away on the ninth floor, kind of like a large closet with a view of -- a brick wall. It was disappointing, to say the least. Overall, we had an amazing evening but not because of the room. The room was pretty but very damp and stuffy. The air conditioning was soooooo loud. I tried watching television before bed but had to have the volume up so loud that I was worried I might disturb the other guests. Again, the decor was lovely but I know for sure they put us in one of the smallest rooms as I examined the chart on the door that shows the floor plan in case of an emergency. Ours was smaller than most rooms by at least a quarter to a half. It certainly wasn't the sort of room I would have chosen for an anniversary night.
In the morning, my husband attempted to find coffee in the cafe on the mezzanine level. The gentleman in the restaurant wasn't very helpful and seemed aggravated that my husband wanted to bring the coffee up to the room.
Overall, it wasn't a horrible stay nor was it exceptional. It was "ok," not what I expect from a boutique hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as there are better, roomier and more comfy rooms available in NYC.

Room Tip: Ours was not a good room...... so I can't give a tip on how to get one. I thought mentioning ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liza L, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Timesharepa:

I am so sorry that we did not recognize your anniversary in an appropriate way with something “bubbly” and an upgrade. I would be more than happy to make up for it on your next visit. Please contact me directly at 1 (212) 448-7000 and I will take care of your reservation.

Kindest Regards

P. Horstmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    241
    78
    24
    14
See reviews for
95
217
33
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had wonderful customer service which helped soften the blow of an embarrassing credit card snafu. We loved the look of this boutique hotel and also the location- we were able to walk to many places we wanted to be within 15-30 minutes and it was also easy to get on the subway around the corner.
The bed was very comfortable and the AC was very cold which was great to come back to after 90+ degree humid days in July.
My only complaint is that the shower in our room took a while to heat up and even then there were times when it would be scalding hot or freezing cold- hard to get that temperature right so start it up ahead of time if you are short on time.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have much of a view (1217) unless you like to try to look in other people's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently renovated with a gorgeous lounge and lobby, this is a gem of a hotel. The staff was very polite and friendly, especially Crystal at the Front Desk. Our room was quiet and beautifully remodeled. I thought the beds and pillows were very comfy. I usually bring my own pillow but didn't need it at The Roger. All that said, there are no ice machines on the guest room floors. Seriously, who likes to get on an elevator to get a bucket of ice? Bathroom was super small with no counter space, but the shower was really strong, the way I like it. Seeing price tags throughout the room and bathroom is pretty tacky. But, when I thought about the value of the room and the price paid I could overlook them. Overall, a nice experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were really surprised to see a price card for the stocked bathroom toiletries after walking through a beautiful lobby and experiencing a great check-in. My wife liked how "it's close to almost everything" and "it's quiet" and "the staff are friendly". I liked the window overlooking Madison Avenue and utilizing the 'Tasty Cafe' across the avenue. Cute, clean, small room. The writing desk, desk chair, bed and usual dresser combo left about 80 sq ft of floor space. Doormen always asked if they could help in any way. The rugs in the elevators should be removed/replaced - piu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

i stayed here for just under a week for a business trip.

The hotel looks beautiful and exactly the pictures i saw but... i'm not impressed.

My biggest complaint is to do with the beds, it was awful, did not get a good nights sleep while there. This is the main reason why I'm not planning to return.

Other more minor things i didn't like:
I did not like the "sales" items they left all over the room
Given we were paying over $300 per night they were skimpy on the bath extras - all the shower amenities were in large bottles attached to the shower, unlike other hotels where you can take the little bottles home. They did however leave a small bottle of body cream which was just replenished and not re-stocked daily.

Also, when i checked out they just processed my bill and did not mention if there were any additional charges - i'm used to the hotel reminding me of the total cost and if there are any extra fees. As i was walking out i checked the bill and realised they charge me for extra items - which i did not use! Cheeky, i had to go back and get them to refund the amount!

Just not what i expect from any hotel let alone a 4star

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I enjoy staying at the Roger when the rates are reasonable (this is a NYC phenomenon not a Roger one). It's got great staff, a beautiful design aesthetic, quiet rooms, and a good location. And a great shower!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed in a few boutique hotels now. This was probably my least favorite. Everything was just average to me. The workers were all nice. But, the prices (food, drinks, etc) were very high and the hotel did not have any great amenities. It is small and had a small bar in the lobby. The rooms were average and the bathrooms did not have good lighting or space. Only one person in there at a time and the mirror was small and it is bad lighting. No other mirrors in our room either. So, my girlfriend and I struggled to get ready each day. My other friend payed extra to have a room with a nice balcony. But, it was much smaller than the pictures on the website and never got used (we were hoping for all the girls to hang out and enjoy the view from her balcony). Next time I am in NYC, I will probably stick with my favorite boutique hotel chain...Kimpton Hotels! There was one right down the street!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Address: 131 Madison Avenue, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.