We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Manhattan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #253 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Manhattan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Roger Smith for four nights with two friends. Perfect location in midtown Manhattan within walking distance to everything. Very friendly staff at the reception desk, a small bar in the ground floor and a very nice and popular rooftop bar. We stayed in a Premium Suite and as it says on the website "It's a much more civilized stay if in fact you have the space to spread out. These suites are comfortable enough and well appointed enough that you could in fact invite your friends that you know in New York up to have a drink in your suite."

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    330
    122
    70
    48
See reviews for
228
191
102
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was excellent. The facility is a bit old but the bathroom had been recently remodeled and the rooms were a very good size for the city. The mattress was a bit old but it didn't affect my sleep. There were plenty of toiletries including a toothbrush and toothpaste which was surprising. Although there is no restaurant on site, there are many take out menus in the rooms for restaurants which will deliver direct to your room and bill your room. The staff was very accommodating when I lost my wallet and worked things out with my office so that I was able to check-in and they arranged for me to receive cash from my office as well. The elevator is pretty ancient and you may have to wait a few minutes for it but that is normal in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel in a perfect location with wonderful accommodating staff. The room was large and clean and quiet. Henry's roof top bar was fun. This is my new NYC hotel when in the city.

Room Tip: I had room 811, it is listed as a one bedroom suite. It is actually larger with a second bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent a week there in May 2014 & couldn't have been happier. The room was clean & comfortable & there were lots of little touches that made all the difference. Toothpaste & brush in the bathroom & free yoghurt & granola in the lobby which saved us breakfast costs. Windows can open which is great if you like fresh air, although New York traffic is very noisy. The staff were very helpful & particularly Manny on the front desk. Location was great & we were able to walk to most places. The bathroom/plumbing was quite dated but did the job, & there was a hiccup with the account which was sorted out quickly & to our satisfaction. Would definitely stay there again & recommend to others.

Room Tip: New York is noisy - the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked the Roger Smith Hotel for a one night stay in June. The room was wonderful and very clean. The location of Roger Smith Hotel is wonderful and very close to the attractions of Midtown Manhattan. This was my second stay with my family and it won't be my last!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We needed 2 sleeping spaces, but didn't want to pay for 2 hotel rooms. The King suite at The Roger Smith offered a roomy, thoughtful space with great attention to detail. It was lovely and comfortable. The Apple TV was a bonus that the 18 and 20 year old loved. Daily refreshments and a friendly, helpful service team made this awesome location perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I needed to find a place that was reasonably affordable (a matter of perspective in NYC), safe-feeling / comfortable enough for my 90 y/o traveling partner, and with enough character to make me feel good about spending the week there. Roger Smith Hotel was perfect in all these categories. I mean, really recommendable. Lower floors are a little loud if you're not used to the buzz of NYC street noise. There is no breakfast, but there is 24/7 granola and yogurt available. Room key didn't work when I arrived, but that was fixed attentively.

Overall, this place has class. Style and grace. Good value. Give it a chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.