We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old But CLEAN !!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #260 of 452 hotels in New York City
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old But CLEAN !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great location, within walking distance of almost anything your looking to do. The whole decor of the hotel was very nostalgic I felt like I went back in time but it was clean and everything worked. NO Parking @ the hotel, bummer! Crappy offerings for continental breakfast & the WiFi was not so great ( could NOT really get connected ).

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    317
    119
    70
    47
See reviews for
221
188
102
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, fl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was the latest of my many stays at the Roger Smith Hotel and it's always pleasant to return. The rooms are very large for Manhattan, especially for midtown; the location is unbeatable, among hotels that charge twice as much. One special feature of this hotel is the variety of rooms to accommodate different combinations of travelers. This time, in NYC with my daughter and granddaughter, we had a "Junior Suite." There were two double beds plus a loveseat that opened into a large twin bed, so nobody had to share a bed. The room was spacious, with a desk, comfortable armchair, and lots of floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent a week at the Roger Smith in April. From our checkin we liked
it very much and realised we had made a good choice. We were familiar
with the area as we had stayed at the Lexington next door many times
before. To be honest we had passed Roger Smith many times and never
took much notice.
We had a junior suite facing Lexington Ave which was very spacious and
felt like a small apartment.  We had everything we needed - a large 4
poster bed, sofa, writing desk, large glass coffee table, TV, fridge,
microwave, coffee maker and ample closet and drawer space.  The
bathroom was spotless and we liked the traditional decor. It was nice
to look out onto the hustle and bustle of Lexington Avenue.
The complimentary yogurt, granola and apples which were available 24/7
was a nice unique touch. The Vermont yogurt was very good quality -
recommend the maple!.
We visited Lilly's bar on the ground floor for a couple of drinks
during happy hour and we were surprised how lively it was.  Though the
sign says "restaurant" did not see evidence of food being available.
Check-in and check-out was straightforward - Randy made us feel very
welcome.  We will definitely be staying at the Roger Smith on our next
trip.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior suite...ours was located at one corner of the fourth floor so it had two windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- The location is convenient to midtown attractions and subway.
- The price of my room was aggressive for this neighborhood.
- The plumbing was solid with good water pressure and temperature.
- My room had a decent number of three-pronged outlets or extension cords, located in convenient places.
- The in-room WiFi had a strong signal and decent throughput.

Cons:
- The building is tired looking on the inside, with a broken front door, well-worn carpets, aging wallpaper and some cracks in the walls.
- The mirror over the sink in my bathroom was too low for a 6' tall person to see their head in it.
- The lighting over the sink in my bathroom was a little on the dim side.
- The in-wall air conditioning unit in my room looked very dingy and dirty, but more significantly, let in almost as much street noise as an open window.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is excellent for all the attractions nearby, also only 3 blocks away from subway (line 4-5-6). Me and wife were expecting a boring standard one room with queen size bed, but we got a suite instead. Bed is a bit shaky though. Also photos on the wall make me a bit uneasy in the first place. Staff are very friendly, will definitely come back if we visit NYC again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I scheduled my stay at the roger smith hotel with james Fox(Director of Sales) and I faced a lot of problems.
On April 2, I decided to let the housekeeping enter my room and at night, when I came back, I noticed that some things inside my refrigerator was missing. Luckily, the things of greater value were locked inside my luggage.
Since then, I didn't ask for cleaning service (what I was paying for).
Two days later I realized that someone entered my room without informing me.
I was really disapointed with this hotel and I was worried about my things. I wasted many time everyday to keep everything locked.
Definitely, it was not what I expected from the roger smith hotel.
The heater did not work properly. It stopped working and did not return for one or two days.
My checkout was a mess. I paid for 12 nights with cash on my check-in. One week later, I booked one more night using Hoteis.com's web site and I informed everything needed to the front desk. At check out, they tryed to charge me again the 13 days. I explained everything to the front-desk and I waited for 15 minutes for him to redo all accounts. Even though, they charged me again the last night and I payed twice for the same "service". I called the company (Hoteis.com) and they told me that The Roger Smith received my stay and was not necessary to charge me again. Now I'm trying to solve my problem.
I don't really recommend this hotel to anyone.
The hotel staff convinced me that my bags would not fit in a conventional taxi and they convinced me to call a bigger car. When I realized, they rented a limousine to take 4 large suitcases and two small. When I arrived in Brazil, I took it home in a taxi much smaller than conventional cars used as taxi in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I scheduled my stay at the roger smith hotel with james Fox(Director of Sales) and I faced a lot of problems.
On April 2, I decided to let the housekeeping enter my room and at night, when I came back, I noticed that some things inside my refrigerator was missing. Luckily, the things of greater value were locked inside my luggage.
Since then, I didn't ask for cleaning service (what I was paying for).
Two days later I realized that someone entered my room without informing me.
I was really disapointed with this hotel and I was worried about my things. I wasted many time everyday to keep everything locked.
Definitely, it was not what I expected from the roger smith hotel.
The heater did not work properly. It stopped working and did not return for one or two days.
My checkout was a mess. I paid for 12 nights with cash on my check-in. One week later, I booked one more night using Hoteis.com's web site and I informed everything needed to the front desk. At check out, they tryed to charge me again the 13 days. I explained everything to the front-desk and I waited for 15 minutes for him to redo all accounts. Even though, they charged me again the last night and I payed twice for the same "service". I called the company (Hoteis.com) and they told me that The Roger Smith received my stay and was not necessary to charge me again. Now I'm trying to solve my problem.
I don't really recommend this hotel to anyone.
The hotel staff convinced me that my bags would not fit in a conventional taxi and they convinced me to call a bigger car. When I realized, they rented a limousine to take 4 large suitcases and two small. When I arrived in Brazil, I took it home in a taxi much smaller than conventional cars used as taxi in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#244 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.