We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a suite hotel that could accomodate 3 moms and 3 teenaged daughters - this was the perfect hotel!! We booked the deluxe suite and had plenty of room. Great hotel, comfy beds (although the sofa bed was pretty saggy - but they ususally are...), free yogurt and granola to start your day! Very helpful, friendly staff. And very accommodating. Our room was ready early on the first day which got our vacation off to a great start. Loved this hotel - will definitely be back. Was like an old-fashioned boarding house but quieter and with very comfortable beds. Great value for the money, especially in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    415
    146
    71
    48
See reviews for
280
217
107
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than check in time for our two night stay. Rather than being told that we had to wait, we were offered a two room junior suite, which of course we accepted. It was more like an apartment than a hotel room. While some of the furniture could use some refurbishing, it was comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The restaurant was closed so there was complimentary yogurt, fruit and cereal available in the lobby. Given the high prices for a hotel room in NYC, this is a repeat and a great deal, perhaps even without the suite update! Book it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

upon arriving at the Roger Smith Hotel I was immediately met by the front desk clerk. He promptly and happily checked me into my room. I was exhausted after my flight and just wanted to get settled so I appreciated the fast check-in.

I went up to my room, opened the door, and I LITERALLY dropped my bags. I apparently had been upgraded to a BEAUTIFUL suite. I walked in and was in awe at the spacious living room area that included a fireplace, dining room table, sitting area, small library, and a writing desk. I proceeded down the hallway (after I picked my jaw up off the ground from the pure shock of how BIG this suite is) and was met with a kitchenette, bathroom and guestroom. At the end of the hall was another large room, the master bedroom. I do not feel like I'm in a NYC hotel in this place! This suite is bigger than my old apartment in Queens!

I went out for some dinner and upon returning I got a great suggestion from the front desk about where to get quality canolis from local bakeries. Everyone was so helpful and I felt like they genuinely cared about helping me, which is a rarity anywhere in today's world, and especially in New York.

I will be raving about this place for a while. The vintage and quaint nature of the whole hotel is very charming and inviting. I feel like an old fashion movie star staying here and I think I will stay here everytime I travel to New York from now on!

Room Tip: corner suites are AMAZING request one and pay the extra. I guarantee they are worth the extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Natalie V,

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your review. Our team truly goes the extra mile, identifying and anticipating our guest’s needs. We understand that long travels can be quite exhausting and I’m glad that you appreciated the early check-in and courtesy complimentary upgrade. I’m sure this made your stay the more enjoyable. I have been part of the Roger Smith family since 2006 and had the same “jaw dropping” reaction the first time I walked in to our suites; incredibly spacious!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to stay here, ended up meeting a friend in the city after he finished a big trip so we booked ourselves one night to see what it was like. I arrived hours before him and although the room was in his name they were happy to let me check my bags, which I appreciated. It's very close to Grand Central Station, just cut through the food market onto Lexington and you can see the hotel name across the road and up a couple of hundred yards. Our room was huge by New York standards and the bathroom clean and well equipped. There is no restaurant on site, but it's New York! There are plenty of places to eat around. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Zhoecjm,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you had the opportunity to experience our spacious and individually decorated rooms. Our guests are our #1 priority and we thrive in providing superb service; glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with a friend one night when I was returning from a business trip in Romania. I wanted to spend a night in the city and so we decided to wing it and just see what we could get a good deal on. For the price i think we paid maybe 160total with parking; it wasn't bad at all. The location is actually really good. I think some of these pictures are misleading our room was far from the nice upgraded look that some of these rooms are but it wasn't bad. For NYC and in that location I think we made out pretty well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear AMK3000,

Thank you for your review. We are currently renovating several rooms and our hotel is at this time, a potpourri of newly upgraded rooms and well maintained classical New York accommodations.

We hope that you will return to us one again so that we may have the pleasure of accommodatng you in a one of our more recently renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last few years. The service is always excellent, the rooms clean and well appointed and for the price, it is hard to beat this place in Manhattan. It's an easy place to recommend. To bad they close Lily's Diner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fed S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roger Smith a second time, we deeply appreciate it. Although we have closed Lily's, there are still plenty of great restaurants in the area, where you may enjoy the cuisine of your choice.

Be sure to reach out to me directly on your return and Ill ensure to accommodate you on the 15th floor which you have expressed to be your preference

See you soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A bit old and a bit in need of some upgrading. But at times it is the most affordable hotel in midtown, so that makes it a place to consider. Good location, near a lot of restaurants and bars. Just a few blocks from Rockefeller center and walkable to Times Square.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Djh5723,

Thank you for your review. We are currently updating several rooms, freshening up our hotel while keeping the homey charm, which we are know for.

We hope to see you with us next time you make it over from Chicago!

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.