We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #265 of 447 hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than check in time for our two night stay. Rather than being told that we had to wait, we were offered a two room junior suite, which of course we accepted. It was more like an apartment than a hotel room. While some of the furniture could use some refurbishing, it was comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The restaurant was closed so there was complimentary yogurt, fruit and cereal available in the lobby. Given the high prices for a hotel room in NYC, this is a repeat and a great deal, perhaps even without the suite update! Book it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    287
    110
    63
    41
See reviews for
187
163
96
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

upon arriving at the Roger Smith Hotel I was immediately met by the front desk clerk. He promptly and happily checked me into my room. I was exhausted after my flight and just wanted to get settled so I appreciated the fast check-in.

I went up to my room, opened the door, and I LITERALLY dropped my bags. I apparently had been upgraded to a BEAUTIFUL suite. I walked in and was in awe at the spacious living room area that included a fireplace, dining room table, sitting area, small library, and a writing desk. I proceeded down the hallway (after I picked my jaw up off the ground from the pure shock of how BIG this suite is) and was met with a kitchenette, bathroom and guestroom. At the end of the hall was another large room, the master bedroom. I do not feel like I'm in a NYC hotel in this place! This suite is bigger than my old apartment in Queens!

I went out for some dinner and upon returning I got a great suggestion from the front desk about where to get quality canolis from local bakeries. Everyone was so helpful and I felt like they genuinely cared about helping me, which is a rarity anywhere in today's world, and especially in New York.

I will be raving about this place for a while. The vintage and quaint nature of the whole hotel is very charming and inviting. I feel like an old fashion movie star staying here and I think I will stay here everytime I travel to New York from now on!

Room Tip: corner suites are AMAZING request one and pay the extra. I guarantee they are worth the extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Natalie V,

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your review. Our team truly goes the extra mile, identifying and anticipating our guest’s needs. We understand that long travels can be quite exhausting and I’m glad that you appreciated the early check-in and courtesy complimentary upgrade. I’m sure this made your stay the more enjoyable. I have been part of the Roger Smith family since 2006 and had the same “jaw dropping” reaction the first time I walked in to our suites; incredibly spacious!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to stay here, ended up meeting a friend in the city after he finished a big trip so we booked ourselves one night to see what it was like. I arrived hours before him and although the room was in his name they were happy to let me check my bags, which I appreciated. It's very close to Grand Central Station, just cut through the food market onto Lexington and you can see the hotel name across the road and up a couple of hundred yards. Our room was huge by New York standards and the bathroom clean and well equipped. There is no restaurant on site, but it's New York! There are plenty of places to eat around. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Zhoecjm,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you had the opportunity to experience our spacious and individually decorated rooms. Our guests are our #1 priority and we thrive in providing superb service; glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with a friend one night when I was returning from a business trip in Romania. I wanted to spend a night in the city and so we decided to wing it and just see what we could get a good deal on. For the price i think we paid maybe 160total with parking; it wasn't bad at all. The location is actually really good. I think some of these pictures are misleading our room was far from the nice upgraded look that some of these rooms are but it wasn't bad. For NYC and in that location I think we made out pretty well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear AMK3000,

Thank you for your review. We are currently renovating several rooms and our hotel is at this time, a potpourri of newly upgraded rooms and well maintained classical New York accommodations.

We hope that you will return to us one again so that we may have the pleasure of accommodatng you in a one of our more recently renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last few years. The service is always excellent, the rooms clean and well appointed and for the price, it is hard to beat this place in Manhattan. It's an easy place to recommend. To bad they close Lily's Diner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fed S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roger Smith a second time, we deeply appreciate it. Although we have closed Lily's, there are still plenty of great restaurants in the area, where you may enjoy the cuisine of your choice.

Be sure to reach out to me directly on your return and Ill ensure to accommodate you on the 15th floor which you have expressed to be your preference

See you soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A bit old and a bit in need of some upgrading. But at times it is the most affordable hotel in midtown, so that makes it a place to consider. Good location, near a lot of restaurants and bars. Just a few blocks from Rockefeller center and walkable to Times Square.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Djh5723,

Thank you for your review. We are currently updating several rooms, freshening up our hotel while keeping the homey charm, which we are know for.

We hope to see you with us next time you make it over from Chicago!

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Roger Smith hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Grand Central station and from Fifth Avenue. It is a good spot for exploring the city and I especially recommend it for first time visitors. The rooms are large but need renovation. They are individually decorated and that gives you the feeling that you are not really staying in an hotel but in someone´s home which is nice. Beds are good but the sofa beds really need new matresses. The heating system makes the rooms too hot in spring and fall when the temperatures are higher outside and the heating is set for winter. It is a pity that they closed the restaurant. Now you have to get breakfast elsewhere but the fact that the rooms are equipped with a small kitchenette also gives you the option to eat in the room. I just wished they had a water boiler and a toaster to make breakfast easier to prepare. The hotel is also near to the UN and some people have stayed for a longer period attending meetings at the UN.

Room Tip: Some of the lower level rooms give you the added benefit of the smell from the restaurant kitchen ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Annikika,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our décor. Our new england décor is something we deeply pride ourselves on individually creating for each room. We are currently renovating several rooms while trying to keep the work small enough no to cause any disturbance for our guests, making the process somewhat prolonged. Since we decided not to keep our restaurant open we do have a list of restaurants, hand picked by our front desk/concierge available at the front desk upon request.

Please do contact me directly to discuss additional comments regarding your room. If you should have specific requests for your retuning visit feel free to communicate with me and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

We hope to see you with us again soon!

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.