We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always look forward to coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“I always look forward to coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last few years. The service is always excellent, the rooms clean and well appointed and for the price, it is hard to beat this place in Manhattan. It's an easy place to recommend. To bad they close Lily's Diner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fed S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roger Smith a second time, we deeply appreciate it. Although we have closed Lily's, there are still plenty of great restaurants in the area, where you may enjoy the cuisine of your choice.

Be sure to reach out to me directly on your return and Ill ensure to accommodate you on the 15th floor which you have expressed to be your preference

See you soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    357
    129
    71
    48
See reviews for
245
197
103
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A bit old and a bit in need of some upgrading. But at times it is the most affordable hotel in midtown, so that makes it a place to consider. Good location, near a lot of restaurants and bars. Just a few blocks from Rockefeller center and walkable to Times Square.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Djh5723,

Thank you for your review. We are currently updating several rooms, freshening up our hotel while keeping the homey charm, which we are know for.

We hope to see you with us next time you make it over from Chicago!

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Roger Smith hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Grand Central station and from Fifth Avenue. It is a good spot for exploring the city and I especially recommend it for first time visitors. The rooms are large but need renovation. They are individually decorated and that gives you the feeling that you are not really staying in an hotel but in someone´s home which is nice. Beds are good but the sofa beds really need new matresses. The heating system makes the rooms too hot in spring and fall when the temperatures are higher outside and the heating is set for winter. It is a pity that they closed the restaurant. Now you have to get breakfast elsewhere but the fact that the rooms are equipped with a small kitchenette also gives you the option to eat in the room. I just wished they had a water boiler and a toaster to make breakfast easier to prepare. The hotel is also near to the UN and some people have stayed for a longer period attending meetings at the UN.

Room Tip: Some of the lower level rooms give you the added benefit of the smell from the restaurant kitchen ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Annikika,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our décor. Our new england décor is something we deeply pride ourselves on individually creating for each room. We are currently renovating several rooms while trying to keep the work small enough no to cause any disturbance for our guests, making the process somewhat prolonged. Since we decided not to keep our restaurant open we do have a list of restaurants, hand picked by our front desk/concierge available at the front desk upon request.

Please do contact me directly to discuss additional comments regarding your room. If you should have specific requests for your retuning visit feel free to communicate with me and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

We hope to see you with us again soon!

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Five of our adult family stayed here and loved the hotel. Great location meant that we could walk to most Manhattan attractions.Convenient to Grand Central Station. Staff very courteous, helpful and patient.Booked our stay months in advance requesting accommodation appropriate to our needs but needed to chop and change bedrooms a few times on first two days. We ended up on two different floors and one of us had to sleep on a pullout sofa for our week's stay! Think a bit better forward planning by hotel reservations could have come up with better arrangements? Rooms clean and very warm. Wore earplugs at night because of previous reviews and it was fine.Will stay there again if in NYC.Good value.

Room Tip: Make sure staff arrange appropriate accommodation in advance for family groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Westie,

Thank you dearly for your kind words, they do mean a lot to us! We are sorry to hear that you experience some difficulties with your rooms. What you have described is not consistent with the service we aim to provide and the reservations department will be notified. We do hope that you’ll return to us so that we may have the opportunity to prove that this was a single occurance and that we aim to provide the best possible service at all times.

If you have additional feedback regarding your stay, please feel free to reach out to me to further discuss.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Roger Smith on October 2012, although very nice and cozy, it was missing things that a hotel at that price should have I.e. room service and restaurant. I went for work and when I arrived at 11 pm from work, no food possibilities were available, just a couple of nearby restaurant menus WHICH WERE CLOSED. I had to go to sleep hungry. On the good side, the attention impeccable, very friendly people worked there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Roger Smith for 3 nights. The location is in walking distance of Park Ave, Madison Square Garden, Times Square, and everything else. There are several local restaurants around the corner when you don't want to walk so much. The staff was great. Extremely accommodating and personable. A++

The room was spacious and came with a mini fridge. You have free wifi access. I only had two major concerns with the hotel
1. You could not control the heat or air in the room. So one night I was extremely hot and the next kinda cold.
2. No fitness center

I don't think I would stay there again; I did not feel the cost added up to the amenities...but it is NY, so everything costs a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Found this little gem on the internet and loved it! Walked into the lobby filled with lovely art and employees with smiles on their faces anxious to welcome us. When we checked in we got the surprise of an upgrade...beautiful suite, great bed and a warmth and charm that can't be beat. In a wonderful part of of the city, close to everything...I will always go back to Roger!
Donna in Oshkosh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Donna,

I cannot help but smile when reading your review! This is the exact reaction we hope to inspire when we offer a warm welcome in our artsy family hotel.

We hope to welcome you again and again, at the Roger Smith Hotel.

See you soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.