We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, missing some things” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Roger Smith Hotel to your Saves list
Roger Smith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The "Bucks" start here!
Ranked #228 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good, missing some things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Roger Smith on October 2012, although very nice and cozy, it was missing things that a hotel at that price should have I.e. room service and restaurant. I went for work and when I arrived at 11 pm from work, no food possibilities were available, just a couple of nearby restaurant menus WHICH WERE CLOSED. I had to go to sleep hungry. On the good side, the attention impeccable, very friendly people worked there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    442
    153
    73
    51
See reviews for
305
234
111
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Roger Smith for 3 nights. The location is in walking distance of Park Ave, Madison Square Garden, Times Square, and everything else. There are several local restaurants around the corner when you don't want to walk so much. The staff was great. Extremely accommodating and personable. A++

The room was spacious and came with a mini fridge. You have free wifi access. I only had two major concerns with the hotel
1. You could not control the heat or air in the room. So one night I was extremely hot and the next kinda cold.
2. No fitness center

I don't think I would stay there again; I did not feel the cost added up to the amenities...but it is NY, so everything costs a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Found this little gem on the internet and loved it! Walked into the lobby filled with lovely art and employees with smiles on their faces anxious to welcome us. When we checked in we got the surprise of an upgrade...beautiful suite, great bed and a warmth and charm that can't be beat. In a wonderful part of of the city, close to everything...I will always go back to Roger!
Donna in Oshkosh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Donna,

I cannot help but smile when reading your review! This is the exact reaction we hope to inspire when we offer a warm welcome in our artsy family hotel.

We hope to welcome you again and again, at the Roger Smith Hotel.

See you soon.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel was a really good hotel to stay in, it is a very nice hotel inside with each of the hotel rooms feeling homely with their decor. Also the hotel is very nice and clean and the staff were excellent always willing to help with directions etc and phoning taxis. The hotel is in a great location as it is almost impossible to be near every attraction in the city, however this hotel is a walkable distance from the majority of locations there is also subway stations near the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The big pluses with the Roger Smith are the mid-town location (Grand Central just a 2 minute walk!) and the affordable rooms (I got mine for just $100 per night). The front staff were also very helpful and the room was well equipped with AC, a nice bed, a clean bathroom and free wi-fi. On the town side, well, no breakfast room, the interior of the property is a bit dated (but I'd say that gives it character) and the funky art looks out of place. Would I stay again?... you bet.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the location. Save a few bucks on transport to and from the hotel by taking a shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel building is old, but clean and renovated. Location is perfect on Lex. 10 min waking to times square. The stuff is not very welcome. at the check out day I asked to keep my notebook in the reception, but the decline.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You can't beat the location of the Roger Smith Hotel; right in the heart of Mid-Town (and across the street from a client of mine). From the outside, it looks like the sort of funky, boutique place that you'd want to stay while visiting the Big Apple. On the inside...well...it definitely was funky. First, I must say that I have absolutely no complaints about the staff. The interaction I had with the front desk was completely pleasant. Second; I really LOVE the concept of the hotel - completely unique rooms, nothing cookie-cutter, original artwork in the lobby.

However...and it's a big however...my room, while clean (and HUGE, oh my goodness, bigger than some apartments), was just SO WORN DOWN. Stains on the carpet, tired old furniture, etc. And the noise from the street was incredibly distracting. I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Smith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.