We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned decedent luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn New York City to your Saves list
Inn New York City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned decedent luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I go to New York on business and always stay by Times Square. My Wife and I decided to go to New York for fun, and took a chance and stayed here and tried out 3 of the 4 suites offered in this wonderful hotel. We never regretted our decision. The place was a highlight of the trip.
From the wonderful snacks offered, the the great hospitality for the people, everything was perfect. The perceived drawback of not being in the action, turned out to be a positive, as an excellent subway station was only a half block away, and it was great to come back and relax away from the bussle.
We sayed in the Opera, Spa and Library Suite, and all where excellent. I can not say which is my favourite, as all had at least one postive the others did not.
In retrosoect, the Opera room was the least spectacular room, but is had a wonderful patio overlooking a cute little garden, and great noon to afternoon sun. If the weather is good, I highly recommend it if you like relaxing on a patio. After staying in the other rooms we often remarked we would like to ask the person staying there is we could use his patio. It is also on the ground floor, which is nice.
The Spa room was great after walking around NYC all day. Central Park is only 3 blocks away, and after all day shopping orwalking, relaxing in the great tub, or a sauna was heaven.
The Library room was probably the nicest Suite, and the largest. You could live there.
But we missed the Spa, or the nice balcony. The the extra room was nice.

I highly recommend staying at this unique and fun place. I will alway have fond memories of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
159
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley Lancs
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My wife and I had previously stayed in a suite at one of the city's 5 star hotels. On this visit we realised we could have our own virtually private accommodation for the same price. We chose to stay in the Spa Suite which is the most expensive. Each of the 4 suites is on a different level with one being below ground level in the basement. It has to be said that Inn New York and a majority of the hotels in the city are at opposite ends of the spectrum for character. We have never experienced such a quirky place in all of our travels. From the sherry decanter and soft music in the entrance vestibule to the daily cakes and pastries that appear in the fridge, we were never short of nice touches to show someone cared about their role as hosts. Each room is crammed with artefacts, magazines, books, chocolates, the list goes on. Our suite was on the first floor and the door led straight into the bedroom. There was a gallery kitchen leading into the bath/spa area. The bed is very large and comfy. The kitchen is very well equipped. The bath/spa room is amazing but we both thought it was overdue a facelift and makeover. Its worth bearing in mind that this is a very old building with a lots of original features. On the last night of our visit we had a noisy family in the suite above. This coupled with the poor sound insulation of the windows resulted in a very restless night's sleep. Heavy sleepers may not find this an issue. Its worth noting that the other suites dont have a window onto the busy street at the front of the property. My guess is the top floor and the basement would be the quietest. All in all a fab place to stay. Its also worth mentioning that the rooms are spotless. The cleaning staff are outstanding. Is it worth the money? It depends on your needs and what deals are being offered by the hotels at the time. This place is unique and as such you would expect to pay extra for the privilege. One slight niggle was the extra charge for a late check out considering we had just paid for 7 nights in the top suite.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We are in love with this hotel! From the consistent exceptional service to the beautiful comfortable rooms. It is our favorite hotel in New York! The staff is fabulous and always anticipating our needs. We had a very special stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We came to NYC for a family birthday celebration and decided on Inn New York City. We've known about the place for 3 years and haven't managed to find the time to stay. We loved the Inn and appreciated the thoughtful extra touches (birthday cake, goodies, wine and cheese). The accommodations are lovely and comfortable...made us dream of having our own, restored brownstone on the West Side. Maybe someday. In the meantime, we plan on returning to the Inn New York City for our special occasions in the City.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My Dad I and stayed in the Vermont Suite for 6 days. My Dad had the main floor sofa bed and I had the bedroom down the spiral stairs. It was an excellent base for our NY city travels. It was close enough to everything without being in the middle of it all. What I loved most of all was the feeling I lived here, this was not a hotel room and it never felt like it anyway. Goodies were replenished as we used them and laundry was done for us TWICE! It was very hot a humid and we were not used to it at all. The Inn surpassed all of our expectations and nothing could come close to the feeling we lived there.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I have found it---the perfect romantic getaway in the heart of Manhattan. There's no sign outside the building, just Victorian lights outside a West 71st Street brownstone 3 blocks from Central Park. But enter and you're in one of the classiest and most unique of any lodging experience I've had in the city, in fact the country (and I'm an experienced traveler). Ruth Mensch and her daughter have arranged their brownstone into 4 disctinctive living suites, each with its own character, living area, bedroom and fully equipped and stocked kitchen (no extra charge).

We booked the Spa Suite on the second floor, primarily because of its Sauna and Jacuzzi for 2 and, although it was more narrow than the other large suites (Opera, with tuned piano, and the huge Library Suite---there is a smaller, Vermont Suite that I wasn't able to see)), it was more than spacious. A bottle of wine with all the accompaniments (cheeses, fruits, etc., etc.), private label "welcome" chocolate cake, a full refrigerator, bagels, croissants, cereals, juices, etc. greeted us upon our arrival and were replenished for the second day of our stay. While the Suites are not inexpensive (we were able to get a price break off the listed rate because of availability and a last minute booking), the value is outstanding. Although our stay was for 2 days and to celebrate our anniversary, I'd also consider returning on a business trip where I don't require a cocktail lounge downstairs and would like to take refuge overnight from the "real world" to get the batteries recharged.

Two caveats---The Inn really isn't for young children and, since it's in a brownstone, you'll need to climb steps.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night in the Spa Suite. From the moment you stepped foot into the inn, you stepped back in time. The beautiful woodwork, the original architecture, and Ruth. Ruth was caring, and took pride in showing us every aspect of her home. The bed was extremely comfortable; the kitchen was fully stocked with fresh fruit, pastries, snacks, quiche, cheeses, bottle of wine, beverages. She even had a birthday cake in honor of my husband. You do not find this attentiveness very often. I would highly recommend Inn New York City, for a quiet, intimate stay. I can’t wait to return for another special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.