We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I ever been!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Save Saved
You added Inn New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn New York City
266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 453 Hotels in New York City
beijing
1 review
“Best place I ever been!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Sorry for my late review coz I just arrived home. This hotel provides us amazing experience ever since. First of all, the food including cakes, snacks and fruits were all fresh and tasty! And they will be changed everyday. Juice and water in the fridge were all cool after a long day run outside! There is a trader joes nearby and some pizza and convinience stores around so you can buy everything! Second, this hotel isn't the conventional one coz it feels like home and the kitchen is great we cooked everyday during our stay. Everything there is clean and tidy. Elyn is very nice to me and we enjoyed wonderful talks. I think everyone will feel worthy staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
144
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had wanted to feel a part of New York on our recent visit, so we chose the Inn New York City instead of a conventional hotel. What a delight. We stayed in the Opera rooms which were comfortable and full of character. In the morning we were able to head off for a run down by the Hudson and then during the day it was so nice to stroll across central park to the museums or catch the subway downtown. All the little touches during the stay were a real joy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I wanted a little something different from the normal big luxury hotels for our recent trip to New York. It was a special occasion as I had planned the trip to propose to my girlfriend.

We both enjoy staying in luxury hotels but also enjoy something quirky and different from the norm. Inn New York was certainly not a disappointment! In fact, my expectations were blown away!

Thanks to Ruth and Elyn for making our amazing trip even more special by creating a unique hotel and for adding the extra touches that made all the difference. We shall be staying again if ever we are back in NY.

Thank-you!
Ray and Debbie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely inn in a brownstone on the Upper West Side. We stayed in the Opera Suite, which has a delightful veranda. The rooms were very comfortable-almost like staying in your own cozy apartment. Delightful snacks were provided as well as a marvelous cake and other goodies for breakfast. Even the choice of CD's were wonderful. We would highly recommend this property, and we will return.

Room Tip: If you would like to have access to a very nice veranda off the bedroom with comfortable garden furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I recently had a return visit to Inn NYC and stayed in the Spa Room over night. This is the fourth time we've been there over the last few years and I have always more than enjoyed my stay. The rooms are lavish and comfortable and you really feel like you are in an apartment. The Spa Room has a huge jacuzzi, sauna, and over head shower, elevated king size bed and most every amenity I can think of. You also have a kitchen full of fruits, goodies, treats and a cake! You really can not find anything else like this charming Inn anywhere in the city, especially for the price. The location is also fantastic. It is central to everything in the neighborhood you may want and very close to the subways. You would be wise to book a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Spa suite and it was fantastic. The hostess welcomed us with open arms and escorted us to our. We were given the grand tour of the entire room. She pointed out every light switch and electrical outlet and everything in between. The bedroom was amazing itself with the little staircase leading on to the bed. In front of that was a table where you could have a romantic dinner by candle light. There was a couch right next to the bed which was perfectly positioned in front of the tv for some late night channel surfing. Between the couch and the TV was a door filled all sorts of different literature. My girlfriend almost collapsed as she saw some of her favorite authors. Inside the tv cabinet there was a plethora of new york broadway play bills. Heading into the kitchen was a tight squeeze but we didnt stay in there very long anyways. A full pantry of food, wine juices and waters in the mini fridge, and on top of thats plates cups forks knives wine glasses and even pots and pan to make your stay more at home. As you make your way into the jewel of the room, the spa, your enticed by all white walls, a fireplace, scented aroma inserts for the spa, and robes that make you feel like royalty. Spa was more than spacious enough for both of us to sit back relax and enjoy some wine and talk about life with each other. There are chairs around the jacuzzi if you are wanting to wait and sit with your loved one while the tub fills. Inside of another pair of doors is the toilet. A little cramped as well as the shower but like i said before. Wasnt there long enough to truly complain. We ordered take out and the food came quite promptly. Our sleep was the best sleep my and my girlfriend had in months. For a hotel in New York it was amazingly quiet and subtle. Me and my girlfriend will try and make our way back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A few suites with everything you could want in NYC. Our business requies us to travel a great deal but pays us back with luxury accomodations. This was wonderful.
For some what they will love is the great bowls of fresh fruit, cakes, candies and drinks.
For us it is the spa/Jacuzzi in the suite.
For anyone it is the location near Lincoln Centers and the top restaurants.
Truly 5 stars

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.