We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like you live there...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Save Saved
You added Inn New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn New York City
266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Amenities
Ranked #8 of 446 hotels in New York City
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Like you live there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you ever wanted to know what it is like to live in a fabulous UWS brownstone flat, this will get 'er done. Situated in a super neighborhood, surrounded by good restaurants, great bodegas, wine stores, the Lincoln Center, even a Trader Joes, you will want for nothing.
We stayed with our college age daughter in the Library and it was perfect. The fully equipped kitchen (which was constantly being restocked with yummy pastries and drinks) allowed us to cook several meals in - resulting in saved moolah from too many restaurant meals. The suite was also extremely quiet and private.
And to get an idea of how wonderful and accommodating the management is - we had a late flight out on our last day and we're given the amazing hospitality to hang out in the Opera Suite for the afternoon, since they needed to prepare ours for the next guest. That's above and beyond. And I would definitely stay in the Opera suite as well. Beautiful!
We will definitely be back.
(As a reference, hotels we have stayed in NYC include The Lowell, The Pierre, London NYC, Dream Downtown and the Plaza Athenee.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    11
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
137
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FLA.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our sixth year at the Inn. As always, the Inn never disappoints. We write about our experience at the Inn each year when we get home in hopes of letting everyone know that this is the most fabulous way to experience staying in NYC for a whole host of reasons. Not only are the suites out of this world, but more importantly, the way you are treated is incredible and always remains at the highest level no matter how many times you stay there. This time was no different in that respect. Ellen and her staff are incredible. We are already booked for next year. If you stay one time at the Inn, you'll never stay anyplace else.

Diane and Joe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Such a pleasure to stay in someone's home in nyc - well that is how it feels when you come home everyday. Eclectic decor with a homely feel. Great to have the convenience of the kitchen which is stocked every day with breakfast goodies - the granola is very yummy.
Great location, at the end of the street on Amsterdam there is a Starbucks, Trader Joes & great takeaway pizza. Central Park is a 10min walk & so is Fairway Market & Citarella on Broadway.
Despite the local conveniences, the room was quiet both day & night.
Elyn & Ruth more than happy to be any help they can be.
Just a delightful stay, my boys loved having a bit of space to play.

Room Tip: As per the website, the library is appropriate from families (albeit you will need to be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El sobrante
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Returned for the second time to this home away from home for another wonderful stay at the Inn of New York City. This time we stayed in the library suite. The rooms were spacious and cozy and afforded us the pleasure of having a family member spend the night with us. The kitchen, as always, came fully stocked with a full breakfast, and scrumptious and elegant snacks and treats. The location of course is splendid with easy access to all parts of the city and more. We can't wait to come back and extend our gratitude to Ruth,Elyn and their staff for their kindness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I arrived at the Inn New York it was 10 am and to early to check in but Agnus was so hospitable she opened the Opera suite and let me use it for 10 minutes. Agnus made me feel like a very special guest. She gave me a map to the neighborhood and I went for a 3 hour walk in Central Park until the suite was prepared for my arrival for check in at 2pm. An early check in may have been possible but other guests were occupying the Spa suite. There were some delicious baked goods waiting for me when I arrived in the suite along with some delicious British teas. There was plenty of reading material and a small selection of DVD's to listen to. Lovely and comfortable bath robe. The bed was so comfortable I had a wonderful sleep. Highly recommend a stay in the Spa suite that feels like your own personal quaint apartment while in New York. There is also a balcony with table and chairs to enjoy when the weather is warmer. I had a lovely nap after the the timer went off in the sauna. Elyn, Robin and Agnus are very accommodating and you feel the charm of everything in this elegant Inn. I can't wait to return to try out the Library suite which also has a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Spa suite has a jacuzzi tub and sauna to soak your muscles after long walks in New York City. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we stayed here for our anniversary. my husband booked it as a surprise. i've never stayed at a B&B, i'd always feared there was not privacy. this place is entirely different. we were given a tour of the room, given keys to the brownstone, and had complete privacy after that.

it is an old building so you can't hear your neighbors. it's quirky, light switches in odd places, antique decor, but for us these were fun surprises. i suspect it got a very high end remodel in the 80's but due to good care and light use everything is in excellent condition. this is not your typical hotel suite, so if you were wanted the Hilton, this would not be for you. on the other hand i was pleased to see the duvet was covered with nice fresh soft sheets solid colored sheets like in nice hotels. i love the Hilton but this was a hotel room we enjoyed spending time in, making it perfect for an anniversary.

we were left all kinds of amenities: hidden bowls of different types of chocolates and candy, bath extras, a fridge full of OJ, wine, cheeses, milk, and on the counter, tea and coffee, baked goods, and a chocolate cake. there was even wine in the fridge, though bringing your own stock is a good idea because there's no minibar or place to order that in from. the room has a very nice kitchenette, with everything you might need even if you wanted to cook a romantic dinner in your room (toaster oven, microwave, and two gas burners, no oven).

my husband selected the room with the giant tub for us, it filled up with hot water quickly. there was a lovely "fireplace" to make it extra romantic. lots of towels. lots of thoughtful touches, yoga balls and instructions, books and cd's (not totally up to date), and a docking station for your ipod so you can bring your own music. cable was the same as at home and there was a DVD player. the TV wasn't huge but it was fine for us.

there was a sweet table set for us when we arrived so we looked through the menus on the desk and ordered in. the next day we walked to the museum of natural history. this is a lovely neighborhood on a lovely street, near public transportation, restaurants, parks, and all of NYC. we had a memorable experience and i look forward to going back.

Room Tip: there are four very different rooms to choose from. we had the spa room which i liked very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful inn, extremely attentive personnel, would definitely go back again. They provided breakfast food that was fabulous, prepared a birthday cake for our celebration. Location is great near Lincoln Center, Central Park, etc. Street quiet but near lots of activity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Inn New York City Hotel
Hotel New York City
Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.