We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal New York Honeymoon location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn New York City to your Saves list
Inn New York City
266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 459 Hotels in New York City
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ideal New York Honeymoon location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon a few years ago, sorry meant to write this after we got back.
We rented the opera suite. Room was large. Front end had a baby grand piano Tv and seating.
The center was the kitchen. , High ceiling with a pretty colored window built in. Original wooden panels and table with fresh flowers everyday. The fridge was stocked with home baking and fresh water and juice daily along with snacks, cakes and nuts.. The bed was huge and very comfortable with a nice little truffle on our pillow everyday. The balcony out the back of the bedroom was decorated with Halloween decorations. Pumpkins and such. Elyn the owner met us on arrival and made us feel so welcome. It was like a home from home. Just far enough out the center to avoid the hustle and bustle but close enough to join it in 10 mins. Being our honeymoon we wanted something a bit more private and this was just that. This place offers all the luxury and warm welcome a large hotel cant give you.We loved the antique decor. We were booked for 5 nights but ended up staying an extra night. Next time we are in New York it will be the first place we try and book. Good location, Quiet street with subway a couple of minutes at the top of it. Handy for central park as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
152
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was planning my engagement and had been looking for a very special hotel in NYC to help us celebrate. After considering some of the more widely-known hotels, such as the RItz and the Four Seasons, I came across reviews for the Inn. Having never heard of the Inn before, I was a bit skeptical to take a chance on something new for a once-in-a-lifetime event. But the rooms looked like they had so much character, and after speaking with the staff, I knew we would be in good shape.

I am very particular, and had detailed ideas as to how I wanted the night to go. The team at the Inn happily listened to every one of my ideas, and also made some terrific suggestions. At the end of one of our numerous conversations, they assured me that they frequently handle special nights, and that I was in good hands. They were right. Everything went so smoothly. The service was top notch, and the room was beautiful. We didn't want to leave. My fiance and I have stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world, but this was our favorite. We can't wait to go back.

On our visit, we stayed in the Opera Suite - I spent quite a bit of time debating between the Spa Suite and the Opera Suite, but at the end of the day, the piano and terrace won. The room was spacious and elegant and we felt like we were living in a dream. Not to mention that we felt like the whole staff was there just for us. They followed my timing to the second, and made things even more beautiful than I imagined. When you have such an important night planned, it can be stressful. It's great when there are people in the background making things run so smoothly that you don't need to spend any time worrying.

To the whole team at the Inn, we thank you so much for helping make our special day a memorable one. It was truly perfection.

Dan and Joc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayer al tris hotel for 6 nights and we moved from room Vermont to Suite for the last 2 nights.
The rooms are spacious, the forniture is Classic ,in the suite is not in harmony with the modern hot tub, beautiful brick fireplace but I don't like wicker chairs (look like old).
The staff is vero discreet and Elyn is very welcoming.
In your room you have many sweets free.
The location is near Central Park and within walking distance you can find many cafes, bars, shops and other local area attractions.
Thanks for the warm welcome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Charming, charming, charming brownstone on the Upper West Side. Suite was large and comfy. Sweet treats made the kitchen feel homey and were very much enjoyed.
Neighborhood is great, pretty little park just one building down 71st. Easy access to cabs/subway.
The innkeepers were very helpful and extremely thoughtful (left a lovely chocolate cake to celebrate our special occassion).

People over-use the phrase, but really, this place felt like a 'home away from home'. Fun splurge, you'll really feel like it's your own apartment in the city.

No complaints, although I do wish they were pet-friendly, but obviously, can understand why that's a challenge/not everyone's cup of tea.

Hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A very special place in NYC indeed. Travelled with family, stayed in Library & Spa suites. The suites are comfortable (beds are great!) , filled with delightful quaint items, and the Library Suite has a fantastic selection of books in every nook and cranny: it was very tempting to stay in throughout our holiday and just curl up with a good book!
Refreshments supplied include a lovely selection of pastries, granola, bagels, fresh fruit, juices & milk, which are replenished daily. The kitchens are fully equipped for self-catering, and the Library Suite also has a washer/dryer. The staff are very prompt to assist with any queries, and yet very discreet when not required.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have enjoyed living in New York City as though it were our home for many years now, thanks to the wonderful care we receive from the owners, personally, who great us each time we arrive. We stay in the Opera Suite on the first floor, complete with Grand Piano, a lovely balcony overlooking a sweet garden with a trickling fountain that lulls us to sleep, in this beautifully furnished flat. What quiet and privacy we enjoy in the evenings there after a busy day of business. If you want the feeling of "living" in a Brownstone, in what we consider the best neighborhood, you will adore this beautiful Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We love the Opera Suite because of the balcony, where we can watch the birds in the very green atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to new York to celebrate my birthday and up coming 10th anniversary. I had no idea where we were staying, he wanted to keep it a surprise. After we arrived at The Inn New York, I was beyond pleased with this surprise. We arrived a little after 6am and were greeting warmly and taken to our suite. I was instantly in awe of the charm and history of this quaint Inn.

We stayed 2 nights in the Library Suite and 3 nights in the Spa suite, and we fell more in love every day. From the delicious snacks, treats, and breakfast items left and replenished daily, the antique decor and helpful staff, we never lacked anything during our stay. It was great to be out in the city all day and then have a nice, quiet peaceful place to return to. I could honestly go on forever and talk about each detail of this beautiful Inn.

If you are looking to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city, staying in a large and busy hotel, then this place is not for you. If you are looking for somewhere quiet, comfortable (the beds are amazing!), clean, and unique to stay than this is the place for you. You are literally steps away from the subway station, and just a few blocks from central park.

When we return to New York someday, I know exactly where we will be staying, and I am looking forward to trying out the other suites!

Room Tip: The Library suite is bigger, if you are traveling with children or are looking for extra space this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.