We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn New York City to your Saves list
Inn New York City
266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best of New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Inn NYC is a little gem quietly tucked away on a beautiful street on the Upper West Side....the hospitality and service are far beyond any you would receive at one of the large ..impersonal...hotels that are most common to the city....it's a home away from home...just a wonderful place to stay in NYC...we recommend this at the top of our list....

Room Tip: We loved the Vermont suite as it was very quiet and we never heard the city noises ...also it was da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
151
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to New York for our anniversary. Upon arriving at the Inn, we were greated by the friendliest warmest hostest and introduced to the housekeeper. We entered an old world styled suite that was absolutely homey and lovely. Since it was our anniversary, the Inn had put a chocolate cake with the words "Best Wishes" written in it. The kitchenette was fully stocked with wine, soda, cheese, crackers, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, muffins, bagels and more. The large airy bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, sauna, and a shower with plenty of room for two.
The Inn is located on the West Side, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still close enough to everything to make it easy to get where we wanted to go. I would absolutely recommend this wonderful home away from home for anyone who wants a quiet get away with all the perks of the big city!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and teenage daughter and I have just returned from the most marvellous stay in Inn New York City. It was our first visit to New York and we were so excited to be staying in a real brownstone house. We had the Library suite on the top floor - it has a large bedroom and there are doors to close off the lounge area to give us all privacy and space - and was filled with wonderful furniture and artifacts - as well as books.
The kitchen is well stocked with breakfast essentials ( fruit , juice, croissants, bagels, cereal, good coffee ) as well as snacks. Local food stores and delis make it easy to prepare other meals if you like - but there are marvellous restaurants and cafes nearby.
The daily maid service keeps everything emacuate. They even do washing and folding for you! I loved the New york Times every morning.
The location is very convenient to the subway and to Central Park. Just adored our stay - we all want to return soon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place is a great alternative to the high-end hotels near Columbus Circle (Trump and Mandarin), if you're in town for Lincoln Center events. With all the extras, including a surprising amount of free beverages and other kitchen goodies, its a very good deal, and easy walking distance to UWS locations, with express subway stop to Wall Street right up the street.

We stayed 2 nights at the Spa Suite and 2 nights in the Opera Suite. Both had their advantages, but unless you really want to spend alot of time in the spa, sauna, hot-tub, the other large suites seemed to have more room. Spa Suite front room has a nice view of the quiet 71st St neighborhood. Opera Suite has a nice deck out the back. The fully stocked kitchen provided enough extras for a good continental breakfast and light lunch every day.

Service was exceptional, particularly the daily maid and kitchen service.

Room Tip: Opera and Library Suites seem to be the roomiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Fantastic place to stay. Great area - quiet but convenient.
Just like owning your own brownstone!
Try Cafe Luxembourg round the corner...

Room Tip: Library Suite - fantastic. Just like a private apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We just got back from staying in the Opera Suite for Thanksgiving week. We chose this place because of its proximity to the parade route and also many great Upper West Side restaurants. The Owners and housekeeping staff were wonderful. The room was very spacious. Our 5 year old daughter was traveling with us and the room is so well planned, we almost didn't know she was there after she went to sleep - we could watch tv from the main sleeping area while she slept on the sofa bed in the front of the suite without disturbing her. The kitchen is well equipped and thoughtful snacks are provided. If you want to feel like you are at a nice, private home while in NYC - this is the place to stay. Thanks for a great week.

Room Tip: Opera Suite was on the main level and has a small terrace and baby grand piano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My second trip to the Inn confirmed my experiences the first time around. Last time, I stayed in the Spa Suite and thought nothing could be better. I was wrong: this time's visit to the Library Suite reset the scale. The Library Suite is huge, comfortable, aesthetically designed, and nearly flawless (the slightly tight, slightly dark bathroom is the only downside). The innkeepers and the housekeeper are all truly lovely. The innkeepers not only stored our luggage after check out, but they also opened up an empty suite for us so that we could rest before our train. Thanksgiving at the Inn has become a tradition, and I will absolutely be in the Library Suite again next holiday season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.