We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good price for family vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #66 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and good price for family vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is a good value and a good location for family vacations. The rooms are former apartments and are very large and functional, but not luxurious. The space was perfect for our family needs. The sofa bed and rollaway were not comfortable but a pillow top cover suggested by the front desk helped make the sofa bed a little more comfortable. Breakfast was acceptable-very much like a Hampton Inn breakfast. The staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were courteous and helpful. The other guests were primarily European which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience here. We appreciate the feedback to improve. I am glad the memory foam helped make the sofa bed more comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope we see you again in the future.

Thanks again!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    258
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
435
72
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very surprised at how huge the suites were! NYC rooms are usually smaller than many other towns, but these suites were bigger than my apartment! Beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet! The staff was very nice and helpful. Needed help with the safe and tv remote, the maintenance engineer came to our room an showed us (very patiently) how they worked! Close to two subway stations and easy walk to time square! We will definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for letting us know about your stay. We are glad you found the apartments large and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located but very tight in all respect, lobby, breakfast room and even the flat if ok in size is a bit missing natural light in the lower level, we were at 5th, on advise of the travel agent took a 1 bedroom for 4 as there is a sofa bed in the living room, terrible mistake, impossible to sleep on the sofa bed and the hotel was fully booked so no upgrade posible, end up sleeping 1 person on the sofa and one in the chair... During 5 nights..., we were viewing the inside so no view but limited noise, work ongoing but we were told, staff ok especially nice day care maids, breakfast is better taken at the nearby starbucks if you can afford it but they do what they can given th esize to accomodate hungry tourists..., deco is simple but fine and very clean which is most important to us, fianlly it is new york!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for your review.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon perhaps in a two bedroom apartment.


Thank you again for taking the time to write and for your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was very impressed with the amount of space that I had in this suite. I would love to bring my family to stay next time or share the room with others as its really nice. Especially for being in NY. I've stayed in rooms that were the size of a shoebox compared to this for a comparable price. Its location was perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for your review!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the size of the apartments compared to other NYC hotels.

Thank you , again, for your kind consideration and we look forward to your future visits! Please conatct me directly if ever I can be of assistance.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This has to be the largest place to stay in NYC. We couldn't believe the space we had for our family of 5. It is certainly not the most updated or most posh and beautiful, but when you have 5 people in one space and you need a CLEAN place to SPREAD OUT and have plenty of space for everyone to sleep -- THIS is where you want to stay. Also the place is conveniently located within walking distance of uptown, midtown, broadway, but set just off the beaten path so it is not loud at night. The service was excellent and breakfast was delicious. I can't imagine where else in NYC you could get all of this for this price tag.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay and positive review! We were all delighted to see you appreciated the large apartment style accommodations we offer.

We hope you get the chance to stay with us again in the future!

Thank you again!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is a great choice for all. It is located close to the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller centre, grand central and much more making it easy to walk to sightseeing attractions. The staff went out of their way to help us plan and experience a wonderful holiday. A particular helpful staff member was Sam Sharma who arranged transportation, confirmed attractions for us and even arranged a complimentary breakfast before we left quite early in the morning so that we were not hungry. Stay here and you will not regret it. Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and your nice review. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience. It was great to see Sammy mentioned here. We will be sure to recognize his efforts.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just back from a great couple of days here.

From check-in to departure everything super.

The 2 bed apartment was great for the 5 of us, (kids aged 18, 14 and 9) and would be good for 2 couples also. Plenty of space to chill after a long day out in NYC.
Spacious Master Bedroom with Flat Screen TV, aircon unit, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, docking station for iphone and a safe. There was some noise from the Street in the early hours but they even provide earplugs if you need them .

The second bedroom has 2 single beds and also a Flat Screen TV.
Lounge has a dining table seating 6 and a big sofa bed, my 18 year old slept on it no problem. Again another big TV and FREE wifi throughout the apartment. Kitchen was great too with a dishwasher, fridge and a welcome basket of coffee, water etc

Breakfast is included there’s plenty to choose from just help yourself . Fruit,
yogurts, Bagels, pastries, tea, coffee, juice, toast, scrambled eggs, omeletes, sausages, bacon.....even a waffle maker which my two girls enjoyed EVERY morning with the Jar of Nutella purchased from the supermarket round the corner!...........great way to start the day and friendly staff to help you out. Lovely little outdoor seated patio area if it gets a bit crowed inside.

The location is fantastic, 10 min walk to Rockefeller Centre and a couple of minutes more and your in Times Square. Lexington, 5th Ave , all only a few minutes away. Subways nearby and also down on 33rd you can get a short train ride to Hoboken to visit Carlos bakery if thats on the agenda. Shopping is everywhere around you and if you visit Bloomingdales be sure to call by the visitors centre on the first floor for your 10% discount card (just show some id)

Food wise the Italian restaurant next door San Martin was very good and if you just fancy staying in with pizza I can recommend Tivo around the corner on 3rd. We also ate at the Summer Garden in the Rockefeller centre a bit pricey but lovely food and atmosphere. Also under the Rockefeller centre lots of shops and food courts with plenty of seating. Theres a large supermarket around the corner if you need provisions etc

Overall I couldn’t fault Best Western Hospitality House and would recommend it to anyone planning a visit to the big apple. Super, comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and this nicely detailed review. It was super to hear you had a nice visit to our hotel and city.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Address: 145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most desirable neighborhood communities in New York City, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House us a freshly renovated, all suite, three and four room full apartment hotel on Manhattan’s East Side. Uniquely designed with full kitchens living rooms and separate bedroom(s), the Hospitality House provides leisure and business travelers with a comfortable, smoke-free, affordable home away from home. Apartments include Free Hot Breakfast, Free Wifi/Internet, Free Computer/Printer Access, Free Fitness Center Access , Free Newspaper and Free Local Telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.