We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Own Apartment in Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #67 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thirsk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your Own Apartment in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is fantastic a home from home after a busy day sightaseeing tv in bedroom and lounge kitchen with all facilities friendly staff just great .and free breakfast as well. Ideal location the street it is on is fairly quiet and a pizza place 2 doors down subway nearby too. Close to Grand Central and MOMA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards ,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    258
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
435
72
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very spacious rooms. had a two bed apartment with four adults. Excellent location and breakfast was an added bonus. Hospitality was fantastic all staff very friendly and helpful. Big thank you to Dave and Sam on desk who enhanced our 8 day stay with great tips, knowledge and friendly chat. Would highly recommend this place to stay. Thank you.
p.s others have mentioned the noise. Yes there is noise but this is new york and we all slept ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your first NYC trip. Thank you for your positive review.

Sam and Dave will be so happy to see this here as is management. I will be sure to give them special acknowledgment for their service to you.

Our team hopes to have the opportunity and honor of serving you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Although we didn't spend much time in the room, having a kitchen and living room made our stay feel more like being at a home that at a hotel. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location makes it very easy to get to Central Park, 9/11 memorial, midtown restaurants by subway or cab.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post this nice review. We hope we have the opportunity and honor of serving you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The apartments are spacious and have an authentic NYC feel complete with huge american fridge, cooker etc. The complimentary breakfast was better than we expected- choice of juices, tea, coffee( a bit weak for us Europeans!) Cereals, yoghurt, fresh waffles, fresh bagels, pastries, scrambled eggs and sausage / bacon all self-service. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Ideal location for exploring mid-town and upper manhattan. Can walk to central park, Times Square, Chrysler building, Fifth Avenue etc.
There is an excellent Italian restaurant beside a take- away pizzeria next door to the hotel, frequented by locals rather than tourists( photos adorn the walls of all the celebrities and sports people who have eaten there- my son spotted Pele on one of them)
We only have one gripe about our stay- the hotel faces the service entrance to a large Marriott hotel and as a result there were frequent deliveries of supplies and collections of laundry and rubbish -sometimes at 3a.m. and always in huge super noisy trucks. The supplied ear plugs are ESSENTIAL if you want to get any sleep. We used them and they work! The beds were comfortable.
We were on the first floor and as a result our appartment was always serviced late in the afternoon which we found inconvenient as this was when we generally returned to the apartment for a cup of tea, to use the toilet ( they are few and far between in NYC) and to shower and get ready for the evening.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor , rear-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your post on Tripadvisor.

Your business is very important to us and we highly value feedback from our guests. We appreciate hearing what you liked about your stay and how we can improve. We are committed to delivering a superior experience for our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand. We hope to see you again someday.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were looking for a hotel that offered a 2 bedroom suite and this is most reasonably priced in midtown that we found. Was plenty of room for party of 5. We had penthouse and had the most amazing and huge outdoor space which was really shocking in NYC. There were loungers and large table where you could eat. We just loved it and I almost gave 5 stars just for that reason. Did not as indoors could use a little refurbishing, like the heating system which was loud, furniture a bit old, bathrooms run down a bit. We did not notice street noise unless windows or door was open. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Location is perfect. I would highly recommend the penthouse just for that great outdoor space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your stay and review of your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your thoughts here. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a great experience for you and other guests in the future.

We were happy to see you liked the large balcony and outdoor area that comes with our penthouse, rare to have that in NYC.

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the moment we were met at Reception by Mr Sharma, the 4 of us knew it was going to be good. We had a 2-bedroom apartment, with 2 large bedrooms, very large comfortable lounge/diner, well-equipped kitchen and clean modern bath/shower room.

Unusually, there was a very good breakfast room, with loads of hot and cold choices, free newspapers (NYST on Sunday!) and again, friendly and helpful staff; but the waffle mixture and the powdered egg-based omelette need some attention.

Just outside were 2 very good quality and popular Italian run restaurants. You might have to queue if peak time of 7 - 7.30 PM but are made to feel valued as you walk through their doors.

And it is so convenient for Rockefeller, Grand Central, and even Central Park was a pleasant walk away.

But being opposite a Marriott which had laundry and refuse service in the middle of the night and on a popular cross-town route, the noise level was very high from 12 midnight until about 4 AM. The earplugs supplied were useless so take your own if, like me, you sleep lightly; my wife said it did not affect her but she sleeps easily.

Two things the hotel should think about at next refurbishment: first the central heating system is so old and noisy and it leaks around the radiators; second, one lift/elevator is not enough to provide a good service.

We would happily stay there again

Room Tip: If there are rooms away from the street, go for one of them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you for mentioning our service and our service staff (Sammy will be honored) and pointing out the many items offered at our breakfast.

We do realize the sounds of the city at night are difficult to adjust to and we are looking at various options to alleviate that concern. Our eggs are not powdered they are a prepared product, not anything mixed from a powder. We are glad you enjoyed our other food items. We are constrained for any additional elevator.

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for three nights over Easter. Family of four in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Kitchen was really handy. Nice to have coffee supplied for the coffee maker. My girls said the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable, could have done with a mattress topper or similar, but it didn't affect their sleep too much. We were on floor 8 at the back and didn't have too much noise at night. Breakfast good but breakfast room tiny and we didn't manage to sit and eat together, we had to eat in two's and take trays to our room - only problem there was that the one and only lift very busy in the mornings so breakfast was cold by the time we got it to our room. However, that was a minor problem in an overall fantastic hotel. Location is great, short walk to Rockerfeller and Grand Central for the subway. Supermarket 5 minutes walk. If you have kids there is a great playground called Macarthur playground on 49th street - walk directly east about 3 blocks until you're right at the river and you'll find it. Great for the little ones to let off some steam - and it has a loo!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
First of all thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review here. For future reference we do have memory foam toppers for the sofa beds upon request. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will recommend the playground to other guests as well.

We hope we get to serve you again someday.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Address: 145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most desirable neighborhood communities in New York City, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House us a freshly renovated, all suite, three and four room full apartment hotel on Manhattan’s East Side. Uniquely designed with full kitchens living rooms and separate bedroom(s), the Hospitality House provides leisure and business travelers with a comfortable, smoke-free, affordable home away from home. Apartments include Free Hot Breakfast, Free Wifi/Internet, Free Computer/Printer Access, Free Fitness Center Access , Free Newspaper and Free Local Telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.