We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #64 of 452 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were here for 6 nights in late June 2103 in one of the 2 bedroom units fronting 49th Street.

the room was huge by hotel standards and easily accomodated our 3 daughters (9-16). The benefit of 3 distinct rooms was super especially compared to later hotel arrangements on our US trip.

We felt safe everywhere in New York and this area of Midtown seemed perfectly fine.

After the first morning we gave the breakfast room a miss as small and pretty crowded ( I think the hotel was full) and brought stuff back to rooms. We supplemented this with supplies from the excellent Morton & Williams supermarket which is only a block and a half away.

We found the location really convenient for Times Square, Central Park and whilst we walked everywhere until the end of our 6 days the 51st and Lexington subway is only 5 minutes away.

It was still al little noisy with the Residence Inn loading dock opposite us and they seemed to have a lot of cleaning trucks and coming and going but wasn't unbearable.

Aircon coped with +30 degree days ......just.

Overall a good trip and we would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel and for your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your taking the time to post your experience here. It helps us to improve.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Kindest most Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    236
    44
    6
    9
See reviews for
404
67
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After *much* debate with myself over choosing a hotel in Midtown Manhattan that was clean, safe, cheap, friendly, spacious and on Lexington this was perfect according to the TripAdvisor reviews that I trusted to carry out my special 21st birthday holiday. The photographs on the website initially impressed me as the apartments looked very spacious for NYC and I have before stayed in hotels here and the rooms were quite tiny.

We were greeted kindly upon arrival and when we carried the luggage to the lifts to the apartment the women (cleaners I'm guessing) were so kind! They offered to carry our suitcases to our room even though my dad was more than able to manage them.

The rooms were gigantic in my opinion, with a separate kitchen (none of this tiny kitchen built into the living room business) with an oven, full sized fridge, microwave etc. We did not use it at all, apart from the stove for making the odd cup of tea after a long day of walking around the city and the fridge to store milk, drinks and water, but you could really make a full meal in the kitchen.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, and there were many little touches like earplugs for the noise, Bath and Body Works mini products (these are lovely by the way!), cookies and coffee creamer.

My bedroom was huge, with a full size TV (but I didn't use it!), a huge chest of drawers, an iPhone docking/radio station that proved to be a huge help, two bedside tables with drawers and a built in wardrobe. The bed was extremely comfortable. Storage isn't an issue in this hotel at all! My dad said that the sofa bed was comfortable enough and the living room is big enough to accommodate everything.

The noise didn't bother me at all (I could hear live music at one point in the evening and it was wonderful) I'm quite a light sleeper and I love the sound of the city but I'm guessing to some people it may be annoying. The ear plugs provided were sufficient though and are good quality. We were in an apartment facing the car park and apart from the odd car horn and people shouting there wasn't much noise. We had the radiators on all night (they did get very hot) and were very noisy sometimes. The air con unit gave a considerable draft through to the apartment which was incredibly bitter as it was a really cold week in which we stayed. They provided a little cover to one of the units which solved the problem but the other air con unit in the bedroom didn't have one so we had to improvise with a piece of material held over the unit, like what the other cover was doing.

I loved the free wifi in the hotel, had no problem with the signal and didn't disconnect like some of the hotels I've been to. I went down to the little breakfast area one evening to use one of the computers that was connected to the internet and to my surprise all of the computers were free to use which is a bonus, if I'm right I believe that there is a printer too.

I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again! The location is perfect and the staff are friendly which makes all the difference and the rooms are huge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again for being our guest!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My daughter recommended the Best Western since she stayed at it in November. We couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations and the helpful staff. The staff was very accommodating and went above and beyond to help us out. Room was very clean and they even had a little welcome gift basket in the room. Location was great and we were able to walk to every place we wanted to visit. We wouldn't hesitate to go back on our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and for your stay with us. Your loyalty is very important to us and we are grateful for your positive feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Please consider us your home in the big apple.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were very accommodating! the only Hotel in Manhattan that had a one bedroom suite with a king bed, a sofa sleeper in the living area and provided a roll away bed too! Clean and comfortable. Please give this Hotel a shot...it WILL be worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you Pam for your nice review and for your stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Please consider me at your service here in NYC!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Second time in New York and stayed here for 5 nights first time. Small frontage and small reception area. Sam was helpful on desk. Lift tiny and hot. Room was one bedroom for 2 adults and 2 girls 20 yrs old. First impression ok, big kitchen, good size lounge room, main bedroom and bathroom good size too. Oldish and just clean, could be better. Pull out sofa was lumpy and squeaky. The biggest problem was the two air conditioners, one in main bedroom and one in lounge and they were so noisy and rattling it was impossible to have on during the night, so the rooms were hot and humid, sleep not the greatest. Spoke with reception twice and and guess what we got?? Disposable ear plugs and nothing done!!!!! Also we couldnt have our curtains or blinds open the 5 days as every window faced opposite apartment windows and ours also a noisy and busy levelled car park. i asked on first morning to be shifted and of course no one got back to us. Central to shops and subway. The bonus is the breakfast which is great. I wouldn't stay here again as too many faults. Stayed at hotel beacon last time and it was the best, book in advance as we missed out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. First and foremost, on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations for your recent stay with us.

At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you on this visit. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. We did have the units checked during your stay but the problem did not reveal itself on our visits there. We did add weather stripping and tightened them up more to the window frame. We should have just replaced the units, or moved you, in retrospect. We have now bought all new AC units for that apartment as a result of your concerns.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service.

Please contact me directly if you would like special consideration and incentive to return.

Thank you again.

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

breakfast was fabulous!
very clean comfortable hotel,would stay again,
pancakes,eggs,muffins,cereals,fresh fruit and great service
the beds were very comfortable,bathroom large,very clean.
I spent 3 times as much at a super 8 and the room was not even large.best western will be my first choice

Room Tip: I stayed on 1st floor-no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us!! We appreciate your feedback and positive comments. Your business is very important to us and we value your loyalty. We hope to create memorable experiences for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance , please don't hesitate to contact me. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

At your service!
Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights here.. Away from the crowds of Times Square yet close enough to walk ! Wonderful rooms to return back in the night for a good sleep. Excellent breakfast in the morning, very good, helpful staff ( Sam was very helpful), Overall a good place for families visiting New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experince at our hotel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Address: 145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most desirable neighborhood communities in New York City, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House us a freshly renovated, all suite, three and four room full apartment hotel on Manhattan’s East Side. Uniquely designed with full kitchens living rooms and separate bedroom(s), the Hospitality House provides leisure and business travelers with a comfortable, smoke-free, affordable home away from home. Apartments include Free Hot Breakfast, Free Wifi/Internet, Free Computer/Printer Access, Free Fitness Center Access , Free Newspaper and Free Local Telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.