We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families/groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #95 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for families/groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went here with as a family with three young-adults (18+). We got a larger suite which was perfect. Two double-bed bedrooms, bathroom with bath/shower and a sofa-bed. Flat screens in both bedrooms and in the living room. A six-chair seating area and two large sofas. More than enough space for 5 adults. A kitchen with cooker, oven and fridge (we never used it however). Air conditioning in the bedrooms and living room.

We spent little time inside though and exploited the opportunity to explore the city. It is really nearby metro stations and the city has enough to offer to keep you occupied for weeks I'd say. We were only there for two full days, but we hardly spent time in our suite. The staff was really friendly and helped us arrange transportation to the airport.

Only downside: the breakfast room is really small and we were forced to have breakfast outdoors once because there weren't any seats available. There's a nice bar on the corner of 51th and Lexington, called Cafe Metro, that serves a wide range of breakfast dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and your detailed review of our hotel and yu experience. We are honored that you would return again and hope that you will! Thank you for providing such detail about our hotel and the area.

We are working on more seats for the breakast. We hope to have more tables by the end of this month, in fact.

Looking forward to seeing you here at the hotel sometime soon!

Holiday Blessings to you and your family,

Warmest Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights from Nov 24 and were quite happy that we did. The suite had lots of space which was important travelling with three teenage boys. The beds were comfortable although our sleep was disturbed by the trucks collecting rubbish and linen from the service entrance of the hotel across the street. However, this did not detract greatly from our opinion of the hotel as we expected NYC to be noisy. We found the location to be very convenient particularly when we got the hang of the subway system.
The breakfast more than met our needs although it could be squeezy in the dining area at times. Wifi was fickle but we have high expectations and needs (teenagers!).
The area felt safe and there were two good size grocery stores nearby.
Overall, we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to take advantage of the of our location near the subways and the complimentary breakfast daily. I hope the boys enjoyed NYC!! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

We are currently auditing our WIFI system to make sure everything is working properly. We are also adding extra tables to the breakfast soon.

Your feedback helps us to make a positive experience for our guests in the future.

We hope to see you again soon!! Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We took a group of 4 women and 2 young girls to NYC for 5 days. This hotel was perfect! It was clean, spacious, and comfortable! We had plenty of room to relax after a full day of touring, and the beds made for a great nights sleep! The staff - Dave & Tom (and one staff member whose name I don't know, he is from the Dominican Republic) - they were all GREAT!!! So fun to talk with, and they were very helpful with directions and recommendations...just overall very accommodating! The location is perfect, not in the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but within walking distance to Rockefeller Center and subway stops. We had no problems getting around. We are already planning our next trip and will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again!

Thanks, guys, for a wonderful stay in NYC!!!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite comfortably slept 6 people - 2 children on pullout sofa, 2 twins in one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write this nice review of our hotel. We are very pleased you felt at home and that your stay was comfortable and relaxing. Six ladies out and about in Manhattan must have been lots of fun.

Thank you for mentioning Dave, Tom and Eddy. They will be very happy to hear that they received honorable mention here as is our management. I will be sure to recognize their efforts in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to your next trip to visit NYC!! Please consider us your home in NYC.

Happy Holidays!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in the final leg of my two and a half week trip around America with friends. I got there but I was almost out of clean clothes and needed to wash. The trip was so busy that I never got a chance to do it at my previous accomodations. But it turned out that this hotel had no washing facilities as I was told rather rashly by the receptionist. I was directed to a laundary service over the road but they charged outrageous prices. And the nearest self-serve laundromat was several blocks away. I just didn't have time because of my tightly sheduled itinerary. So I had to go and buy new underwear and socks at a nearby shop.

Also, the hotel's only elevator was so slow so I had to take the stairs causing more annoyance and stress. And it does not end there, my room key card would not work and couldn't enter my room most of the time. And the man at the reception certainly wasn't the politest person either.

I know these are relatively small iconveniances but I expect alot better from a hotel like this with the prices it charges and the stars it's rated.

I had stayed at the Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel in Hollywood (also 3 star) and I did not have any of the above mentioned issues with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
thank you for your stay and feedback. It helps us to make a positive experience for our guests in the future.

We are small boutique style hotel with only 33 apartments. We unfortunately are limited to one elevator and no washer dryer in the hotel. Most NYC hotels do not offer a coin op laundry room in fact. We have a service nearby that will wash by the pound for 1.50 each pound. they pick up and deliver. Many of the self service laundries no longer exist in Manahattan due to high rent and the availibility of wash and fold services. We have seen three self service lauundries go out of business in the last four years. I was sorry to hear about it not being explained in a warm friendly way. I will speak to all the staff about that.

We have an electronic key entry for guest security. I have not heard of our guests having any problems with it but I will certainly investigate that further.

We hope to improve on your experince with us. Please call me if there is an opportunity for us to make this up to you.

Wishing you a happy and healthy holiday season.

Warmest Regards,
Robert.
We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this great hotel from the 10th November for 6 days whilst in New York. The location, size of the rooms were amazing. The staff were a real asset and a credit to the hotel. I suffer from arthritis, but had the best nights sleep on the most amazing bed. We had a room at the back of the hotel, so were not bothered by the noise of the city, there was a car park at the back and occasionaly we heard tooting, but not enough to wake us up. We would wake up, sorry excuse me my husband would get up go down to the breakfast room and bring me up fresh orange juice, coffee and toast, what a real treat. Everything was spotlessly clean, fresh toiletries everyday, clean towels etc. This was a real home from home experience. We have travelled to many places and would most definately reccomend this hotel, and will definately be back, hope you find this review helpfull, feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: we chose the back and slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast daily. Your husbad bringing you fresh juice each day sounds great!!

Your feedback helps us to make a positive experience for our guests in the future.

Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the apartment.

We hope to see you again soon!! Happy Holidays to you and your husband!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were relocated to this hotel after Sandy and it was a very pleasant surprise. We had a 2 bed apartment, the suites are nicely furnished and the living room, master bedroom and bathroom are really spacious. it's in a fantastic location, near the subway and an easy walk from 5th avenue, central park and union square. They give you a generous welcome pack on arrival and the cleaning service is great. They also organised a very economical car service for me to the airport which was bang on time.

On the downside, the self service breakfast was very odd (all plastic plates, knives and forks), the dining area too small for the number of people staying and somewhat messy - felt a bit like a youth hostel, very different from the quality of the rooms. Yes the apartment is noisy but to be honest I think anywhere in NYC you will be bothered by traffic. The rooms can get very hot but you can turn the heating down. I would have liked some help with getting my bags into the lift. The second bedroom had minimal storage and was somewhat small for 2 adults.

But really these are small points and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. IOur team is happy that you liked the hotel and would return. We will use the points you mention to improve and create a better experience for guests in the future. Perhaps we will look into getting silverware for the breakfast and we are also adding more seating by reconfiguring our breakfast room soon.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived in New York a week after hurricane sandy and wondered what we would find and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel
The room was a 2 bed apartment with living room diner, kitchen, 2 bedrooms all a very good size, plenty of storage space, comfortable beds and all that you would expect from a normal hotel room.
The rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast more than enough for our needs
The area immediately around the hotel is not awash with bars, has a choice of restaurants, but not a lot of nightlife
it is located half a block from the waldorf astoria, a few blocks from the UN and Grand Central Station so is a good central location for walking
The nearest subway is 51st st so very close
However sleep was a problem our room 4B faced 49th st and the noise all night was terrible also there was a cold snap while we were there and the central heating was turned up to the bake setting, between the noise and the heat sleep was difficult
the hotel is obviously aware of the noise problem as on our last morning when we went through each drawer and closet as you do when you leave we found in the bedside drawers numerous packets of ear plugs, pity they didnt tell us this at check in
Would I stay here again, yes I would but would probably look for something in a more lively area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diveguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for this review and your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments here. We can add a card to the nightstand about the ear plugs that we provide to combat urban noise in NYC.

We hope you return to stay with us in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,517 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,986 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Address: 145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing