We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chelsea Lodge to your Saves list
Chelsea Lodge
318 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SHOW PRICES
Ranked #189 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place, comfortable room, air-conditioning is very important in the heat of summer
Row neighborhood atmosphere of the building.
Insist on daily cleaning of the room
A very attractive price!
A very good experience, I'm sure we return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    224
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
254
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelter Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

By Manhattan standards, this hotel is a bargain. The rooms are clean and attractive in a quaint way. Currier and Ives prints on the wall, sink and shower in the room. Having a toilet in the hall was not a big inconvenience. The hotel is very clean and genteel inside, with antique photos on the walls, and a small sitting area on the ground floor. The location is relatively quiet, mid-block on a side street, facing a public school, so there isn't much noise on weekends. Complimentary coffee and tea in the morning is a nice touch. There are lots of take-out places within a half block to augment the coffee/tea. The building is a Georgian style townhouse with a stoop for sitting and watching the scene.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely place, the effort put into this b&b is wonderful.Shared bathroom ... not to worry, you do have your own shower and basin toilets only shared with one other room.We wish we had more time to spend here.Gives one a real feel of N Y C living.
Yery efficient and helpful. Quote when our bad of 30 kgs had to be moved from a room" Shopping .. yes this is where it began "

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at the Chelsea Lodge. The room was clean and well-designed, and I appreciated that there were two toilets on my floor as well as a spiffy in-room shower. I'm from the midwest suburbs, so I did think that it was noisy to have a room facing the street, but that's probably just me. There was early-morning coffee (after 7:30) and quick subway access. Perfect for a business traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great room, very comfy. Desk agent carried my heavy suitcase up to the third floor. Very convenient location at a great price. Would definitely stay here again, either on my own or with my partner (in a bigger room, which I did not see in person but noticed on the website).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I absolutely loved staying here. The location was pretty good - very close to a subway entrance and on the same street as a convenience store in case you need anything. It felt very safe there, and we were able to park right outside the door and not pay a dime (in New York!) The room itself was quite small, as is every room in NYC, but the price was so much better than other places! The only "downside" is that you share 2 bathrooms that are in the hallway with other guests (European style) - although I never saw this as a problem because the toilets were spotless and right outside your door and there was always one open when you needed it. You do have a sink and shower inside your room, which is nice. The TV was small, but who cares? You're in New York! They also leave you Hershey kisses and the guy working there was super nice. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Small room was adequate, with one full-sized bed. Cute, basic decor. In-room shower was excellent--warm with good pressure, high shower head. Staff were warm, personal, and went out of their way to be helpful, more like B&B hosts than usual hotel desk staff. Internet connection was very good in our room. Chocolates on pillow were a sweet touch. Room cleaning was OK, and bathroom cleaning was good. Location was great, in a pleasant central neighborhood and very easy to get around the city quickly, pick up a bagel or pastry on your way to the subway, and the restaurants we tried for dinner on nearby 8th avenue were excellent. I will definitely stay here again if we return to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Lodge

Address: 318 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Lodge is located in the heart of the historic Chelsea district in New York City.Our 22-guest room European-style hotel is conveniently located to all of New York City, but still gives a sense of being away from it all. The secure, private, and quiet Chelsea Lodge provides a clean and comfortable environment at reasonable rates for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chelsea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.