We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Inn - 17th Street to your Saves list
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Flatiron District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #368 of 464 Hotels in New York City
CORK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This was my third trip to NY and this hotel was better than the other hotels I have stayed in. The room was big enough enough and the shared bathroom was spotless and shared with only one other room. The receptionist was helpful and friendly. Considering the price I think it was great value for money. This is a budget hotel so unlike some of the other reviewers here I wasn't expecting the ritz! Would definately recommend and will be back on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    132
    76
    48
    43
See reviews for
27
121
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stayed on the third floor, no elevators and I have MS so not a good surprise. Needed a cot and it was filthy. Clean sheets. The bathroom was shared with very few amenities. Just shampoo packets. More like a hostel than a hotel. We paid $200/night.

Room Tip: Don't take room #305.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Do not stay here. The pictures on their website made the place look charming enough. Needless to say, upon arrival, we were extremely let down. For the outrageous price we paid, we were greeted with a room half the size of a college dorm room. While we're on that subject, we also had a shared bathroom with the room next door. While my wife laughed this off as European charm, I was less than enthused. The room is drab and dreary, which left us wanting to spend late nights and rooster like mornings in the city...which is perhaps its only plus side. They "offer" three different wifi hotspots in the hotel, however none of them work at all. There is a 13" tube TV which has a few channels, but it's conveniently located in the opposite direction of the bed (nice touch). So, even this distraction from hell can't be utilized. The bed, sheets, pillows and comforter look like leftover relics from a decade long past. Suffice to say, this will be our only stay at the Chelsea Inn. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First things first: GREAT SPOT.
It's very close to the hip avenues 8th and 6th, where you have these great restaurants and coffee places. Just next to the hotel, also, is a Belgian cafe / restaurant, with brilliant food - and the hotel gives you a 3 dollar discount coupon that you can use in the mornings.

HELPFUL STAFF
They were very lovely and helpful - whenever they were present.

SMALL ROOMS & NO ELEVATORS
The room we stayed in had a double bed, a small fridge, a small desk, a sink and a built-in closet. Besides these items, there was barely any room for me, my mother and our 4 bags.
We also had to carry our bags to our room in the 4th floor, which was no fun.
BUT I do think it was partly our fault, for I am sure the hotel would arrange another room, had we contacted them about the luggage deal.

Not too much of a family hotel, but perfect for young friend groups looking for cheap but easy-to-get-around location hotels.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, contact the hotel about getting a room on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we got to this accommodation late at night and a very old man opened us the door. the stairs were very steep and narrow and we first thought: what did we get ourselves into... so we were pleasantly surprised by our room: big double bed, sink, soap provided, tv, hair dryer. everything was there. the bathroom was shared with only one more room. there is no air conditioning though (only fan), so it was really hot and humid and our room was facing the fairly noisy street. despite that i would come back here again as its located pretty close to penn station (if you happen to take a train somewhere else) and also to downtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did some extensive research before booking the Chelsea Inn because we were nearing the end of a travel budget for the year and we also had four co-workers staying together, two of whom were OK sharing a bed. Therefore, we were sold on their configurations of two twin-beds in one room and a double in the other, connected by a shared bathroom. We called and talked to a desk agent who assured us we could have this room configuration if we immediately booked it online. We booked it online while talking to him on the phone and he said we were all set for that configuration.

We arrive at the Inn and (should have known this was a bad sign) stand there while the current desk agent berates a customer service agent over the phone for her terrible customer service and then asks to speak to said customer service agent's manager to then tell that manager to speak to that customer service agent about how bad that customer service agent's attitude and service is. This goes on for 15 minutes directly in front of us while we're trying to check in. This is not a large place - it's a tiny hallway. She is making eye contact with us while doing this, so, it's not like she doesn't know we are there...

Anyway, after the call is over, she checks us in and we drag all our stuff up to the top floor and realize we have two rooms with one double bed in each and our bathroom in the hall, not joined between. We go back downstairs and she tells us there is nothing she can do because there are no notes on our reservation (even though we called and made our reservation with a desk agent on the phone with us!). She then offers to sell us one cot for $20/night. One, I'm not sure where a cot would fit. Two, we had a strict, pre-approved budget. Three, after your lecture on appropriate customer service, wouldn't you just give us a cot? On top of this, she insists that there is a door that closes off our two rooms and bathrooms from the hall (there isn't) and no one will come up to show us where this supposed door is (because there isn't one?). We can see what they are talking about on all the other floors because we walk passed them every time we go in and out of the hotel. Our floor doesn't have one.

Also, I had just spent back-to-back trips in hotels in San Fran and Seattle with floor baths. Both of them had internal locking mechanisms for the bathrooms. Not Chelsea Inn. Anyone with the key can open your bathroom while you are in their showering. Suggestion - put a chain lock on the inside - that's a what, $2 solution to make your guests feel a million times more safe?

The kicker? It also took them TWO DAYS and around 15 asks to get a second key for one of our rooms. We are coworkers at a conference. We do not travel attached at the hip. Plus, one of our travelers staying in the second room slept on a friend's couch in most nights instead of snuggling in a double bed with a coworker. So, she really needed that key to get back in and change.

The rooms themselves are dark and musty and the AC is practically on top of the bed. The bathroom, which supposedly was only ours, was full of hair and empty shampoo bottles when we arrived - and didn't get much more clean after that.

The only pluses are the location (amazing) and continental breakfast at the restaurant next door (super delicious).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for a week during very hot weather and found this place to be very well situated for exploring Manhattan and surrounding areas of NYC, and fantastically priced for such a central location.

Good points:
Room includes a voucher for a light breakfast at the cafe next door, which was always very good (would recommend going here for a lunch or evening meal too);
Air conditioning unit was great;
The bathroom was nice and clean, with an excellent shower, and we did not feel uncomfortable having to share this with one other room;
Price was more than reasonable, which meant we had far more money to spend sightseeing and eating/drinking in NYC;
Local area is full of excellent restaurants, shops, bars etc.;
5 minutes walk to nearest subway station;
Room was spacious enough, with a fairly comfortable bed, tv and fridge;
Other residents were friendly, quiet and well behaved.

Bad points:
Reception staff were sometimes grumpy. Not rude, just disinterested;
We were on the 4th floor - as this is an old building with no elevator, it was an exhausting climb up to our room each evening! This is more of a warning than a bad point - make sure you ask for a room on a lower floor if you can't cope with the stairs;
Decor was a bit dated, but the whole place had charm not found in more modern establishments;
Our room was overlooking the street, which was quite noisy in the evenings and early hours. The hotel provided earplugs, which was a smart move on their part. Rumour has it that the rear-facing rooms are quieter.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again, but possibly ask for a rear-facing room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: High ceilings, with no elevator, so lower floors are more easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Inn - 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Address: 46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Inn - 17th Street 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Inn is a small boutique bed and breakfast style hotel located in one of the most trendy parts of New York City - Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea Inn - 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel 17th Street
Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.